Day 10: Valentine’s in Istanbul

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
3 min readFeb 14, 2018

I absolutely love February 14th.

Not because you’re supposed to get flowers or go for a nice dinner.
Don’t get me wrong, I love getting flowers and dinner is always a nice touch,
but more so, I love the idea of celebrating LOVE.

I love how the shops create beautiful displays and clever little treats to share with your special someone. Your Valentine.

What more romantic of a way to spend the day of amour than in Switzerland eating cheese fondue!

However I realized mid morning that our flight was leaving much earlier than expected, which left little time for packing let alone Fondue. But that’s ok. I’ve got my king by my side. We’re on our way to the Maldive’s via Istanbul, and soon enough we will be surfing in the Indian Ocean.

Istanbul currently has a travel warning issued so we will be taking it all in from concourse B. Not to mention the view from the sky. Makes me realize just how small of a blip we are in the good ol USA.

Istanbul from Above

We land in Istanbul, and check in at the Turkish Air Lounge.
STOP THE PRESSES! Cheese Fondue’s got nothin’ on this.

Our Valentine’s day turned out to be even more incredible than I expected! Authentic Middle Eastern, Indian, and Turkish food, any kind of libation you desire, desserts from all over the world, even a movie theater with popcorn! All right here in concourse B of Istanbul. Who would have imagined?
One thing for certain, around every turn there’s an adventure just waiting to happen and EVERYTHING ALWAYS WORKS OUT!

Date Night in The Airport

Oh, and BTW, my gift to Richard on this day of LOVE? A heartfelt card, half a $47 cheeseburger for lunch, and his bags fully packed compliments of moi!

I’ve got some great ideas for next year thanks to your input.
HAPPY HEART DAY TO YOU AND YOURS.

Soak it all in, today, and every day.

We’ve got our slippers (flip flops) in our carry on and we’re ready to shed these winter clothes the moment we touch down in Male.

Flying in Style to Male

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit, and Fabulous!

--

--