Day 14: Crabby Pants Wins the Race

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
2 min readFeb 19, 2018

The conch shell blew and quickly everyone began gathering around the circle drawn in the sand.

Of course I wanted to participate but wasn’t exactly sure what I was participating in.

We were each given a number and the instructions were given. We were to cheer for our number. Cheer as loud as we could. Cheer on our GARGANTUAN sand crabs. I got Lucky Number 11. My guy brought home the gold.

What a way to turn around my not as GOLD day. Rather than one step forward, two steps back, today felt more like 100 steps to hell.

I arrived all bright and chipper for my new story.

Somehow, it went right out the window the minute I was coached into taking off on the wave from the sweet spot. The spot I avoid like the plague. The spot that in my OLD, ever stronger story, says, “I CAN’T

And so it was. I manifested can’t. Pretty certain I drank half the sea.

Part of it was my separation anxiety from Richard. Due to a heavy sunburn he opted out for the day. Having him out in the water gave me someone to impress. Without him, I was a floundering mess. And it got worse as the hours went on.

I came in defeated from the day. Beating myself up big time.

And yet, those little crabbies. They helped me to see that life isn’t meant to be taken so seriously. Tomorrow can only get better.

Sun kissed

As soon as I embrace the newness of the sweet spot, my surfing will be at an entirely new level. This is what Fifty is all about. Growth. Getting up every time I get knocked down. Facing my fears. Playing full out. Living my most extraordinary life.

I figure if Lucky Number 11’s little legs can take him across the finish line, I can get there too. Thanks to his courage I’ll be sippin’ a complimentary pina colada at sunset tomorrow. No matter how small my victory, I intend to celebrate. Most importantly, I’m going back!

Wondering if you want to come out in the waves with us and watch me go for it? Vote here and if it’s a yes, I’ll have Richard do some FB LIVE’in from the ocean. Be sure you’re my friend on FB. Kimmy Merrill Brooke.

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit and Fabulous!

--

--