Day 18: From Beach Bum to Big City

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
3 min readFeb 23, 2018
A Piece of The Maldives

The boat pulls away from the dock as the horizon gulps up the sun and Kuda Huraa slowly fades from sight.

We fly through the night and arrive in Malaysia for a week of a new type of adventure.

Quick visit with Lifelong Friend, Baldev.

Here we will be sharing our biggest passions. Leadership. Time and Life Freedom. Building a Four Year Career.

We’ve been invited to speak at the Asia Pacific Regional Convention for the company we work with, Young Living Essential Oils.

5000 people will come together to learn, collaborate, celebrate and we are honored to be able to share our experiences and insights with people from all over the world.

If you had asked me 10 years ago to speak in front of even 20 people, I would have run and hid. In fact, that’s exactly what I used to do.

And while the jitters are ever so present, I have to admit there’s nothing like taking on the challenge of public speaking. For me this is the ULTIMATE PUSH outside my comfort zone. So why do I do it? With every yes to speak I get to stretch myself far more than I prefer. With every stretch, I grow.

Today I feel like Dorothy when she goes to the Emerald City.
Ha ha ha ho ho ho and a couple of La De Da’s.

Time to rinse the salt water from our hair and scrub the sand from our toes. I go for a blow out and Richard goes for a trim. Somehow we each end up with large contraption on our heads. Mine shoots out steam. Not sure what his does. Must be a thing here.

If you’re ever in Kuala Lumpur and need the best hair wash on the planet, be sure to visit Edwin at SAW Salon!

Tonight will be our first night of room service since we started our adventure 17 days ago. With only 3 hours of sleep we are pooped.

It’s hard to believe less than 24 hours ago we were on the beaches of Kuda Huraa. Things seems to be moving at super speed. Yesterday feels like a million miles away as we hustle and bustle amongst the people here in the big city. But I’ll always have a piece of Kuda Huraa with me, a perfect heart shaped piece of coral. I found it the moment I stepped onto the beach there. It will serve as my touchstone to move me through any challenges I may face on the remainder of our journey.

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit, and Fabulous!

--

--