Day 26/27. I Just Dance the Way I Feel

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
4 min readMar 7, 2018

There’s something about that feeling of the unknown.
A hint of insecurity. A splash of exhilaration. A bucket full of anticipation.

That’s how we drove up the wrong side of the road towards Noosa.

Originally when we decided to relocate to Australia for the summer, we were thinking Mooloolaba. This idea came from Chantelle, a Mooloolabaian I met in the women's locker room on Oahu. She had such energy and enthusiasm and spoke so excitedly about her home town I thought, “We need to go there”

And so we did. We pulled into the Moolooba Surf Club about an hour after we picked up our rental. Luckily I am just the co-pilot. My brain does not feel like learning a new set of driving skills today. Especially in the sheets of rain coming down sideways.

That feeling of excited possibility is in the air. The idea that maybe this will be our home. We tour the Surf Club and envision ourselves here each morning to kick off our day. It feels right.

Mooloolaba Surf Club

We decide to hop in the car and drive further north and explore Noosa. As we pull into the quaint little town, we are both reminded of Carmel, California. Shops and restaurants line the downtown. Hmmm. Maybe Mooloolaba has competition.

We find a spot right on the beach to rest our heads and prepare for a full day of exploration.

6 am comes quickly as does the days’ light. I am amazed that already at this hour, the beach is full of eager swimmers, joggers, and SURFERS.

This town screams LIFE.

Since I am an early bird myself, this definitely feels like home.

View From Our Room

We squeeze more into the day than possible. The town is highly pedestrian friendly. Miles and miles of wooden walkways allow for peaceful daily workouts amidst the rain forest. The contrast of jungle and ocean is stunning. I love the idea of being able to walk everywhere.

Getting Our Fit Back

We visit every real estate office, every “holiday apartment” on the beach, every hotel, the golf course, the town, the surrounding areas, to get a sense of what’s available to us. Check. Check. Check.

We enjoy a beautiful walk on the beach at sunset and stroll down Hastings to choose a spot for dinner. We are pulled into Rococo, by a voice that’s coming from inside. There’s nothing like FABULOUS LIVE MUSIC. Music that moves your soul. Our dinner is like a private concert. Yes, Noosa has bedazzled us.

Andrea Kirwin

We’re still learning the language of “Aussie Speak” and get a laugh out of the menus each time we dine. Tonight it’s the Chili Chili Bug Bites that catch our eye. I envision crunchy crickets. Of course, RB has to have them. We are pleasantly surprised when they turn out to be mini lobsters local to the area. Another plus indeed.

Chili Chili Bug Bites

I decide to take a stroll down the main avenue before retiring for the night. Rb heads back to enjoy a long awaited cigar. There’s an energy here that feels good. Safe. Comfortable. Optimistic.

From the distance I hear some music pouring out of a cafe. As I walk by he’s singing over and over “I just dance the way I feel”

It’s as if the song is written for me in this very moment. My dance being our journey. The way I feel, FREE.

I continue my walk home, singing this song in my head, and dancing in my heart.

I Just Dance the Way I Feel

We still have many other areas to explore. Perhaps we will fall even more in love with our next stop. Not sure how that’s possible but we shall see.

I’m going to be posting some photos of different places we may live. I need your vote for sure! Nothing screams out to us but really, it’s all about the beach!

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit, an Fabulous!

--

--