Day 47/48: Jet Lag Hangover in Beverly Hills

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
4 min readMar 27, 2018
Eately. The coolest place on earth.

I arrive in a jet lagged daze.
It seems surreal to pull into our hotel. The view from my room is literally Fox Studios back yard. Only in L.A.

I check into the Intercontinental and anxiously await Hailey’s arrival.
As the clock ticks, I unpack and get set for a bit of a stay here. My trip ends in LA because Hailey has an internship at Creative Artists Agency over her spring break.

As a film major, this is an exciting step for her to get a true taste of tinsel town. The hotel is situated directly across the street from her soon to be “office.” No rush hour for her. She can step out our front door, cross the street, and away she goes.

Jet lag + 12 hour time change + No hubby +No new destinations awaiting + Daughter with boyfriend = Travelers Detox.

Yup. Turns out our special “mother/daughter time” has a third wheel. Me. Her boyfriend decides to come to Cali for spring break as well. Don’t get me wrong, I love the kid. But not exactly the vision I had upon my arrival.

Once I recover from the initial surprise, I realize I would have done exactly the same thing at her age. So I make the best of the time we do get together. We have a blast exploring Eately, a ginormous warehouse full of Italian only, foods, produce, breads, cheeses, wines, etc. It’s like IKEA on steroids. Their motto is “Eat better, Live better” and as you walk through the massive square footage, you can’t help but to just feel happy.

I decide to spend my alone time walking and exploring. Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive are a stones throw away. I put on my sneakers and away I go. I could walk for days. The people, the plants, the architecture, the art, the shops, and did I say the people? Absolutely fascinating. I’m pretty sure I walk at least 10 miles just soaking it all in. Who needs daughters and husbands anyway? (me. me. me.)

Everything in L.A. is so groovy. Art everywhere just waiting to be captured by the camera.

Sunday night arrives quickly and we enjoy an incredible dinner at The Local Kitchen with one of my oldest friends, April. Because of her husband, Hailey has this amazing internship. We are so grateful for them both.

Our waiter Jared is quite the charmer. He makes the most delicious recommendations for our meal. Baby beat salad, mushroom truffle pizza, pappardelle pasta, and lamb meatballs. Is your mouth watering yet? He also sneaks a selfie. I’m pretty sure if he’s reading this he’s smiling right now.

I’m reminded once again just how small this world is as we bump into friends from Hawaii who are having dinner at the same spot. Random as random can get. But maybe not so random after all?

We hop into bed excited for what the morning will bring. A whole new world will open up to Hailey as she kisses me goodbye and steps into the elevator of Hollywood’s A-listers.

Hopefully by then my jet-lag hangover will be gone and I’ll be back to my old FIFTY, FIT, AND FABULOUS self.

Only two more days left of this wild adventure. I’ve got plans to announce on day 51 so be sure to tune in. I’m curious what your favorite day has been so far and what you think I should do to end my celebration with a bang?

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit and Fabulous!

--

--