Day Five: The Stow Away

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
4 min readFeb 10, 2018
Stand Proud America

Lights, Camera, Action!
The fast pace, swanky, hipster cool vibe of NYC is palpable.

We arrived jet lagged and disheveled this morning.

Try as we might, no amount of black, funky boots or scarves could ever have us blend in.

We just don’t have the NYC groove. None the less we are excited to be in the city that never sleeps.

So much to tell but the clock works against me. It’s far past my bedtime and I can’t possibly share all we’ve enjoyed in this overly full day.

A brief run down.

7:15 am
I’m denied Global Entry. Come to find out if you divulge you’ve been to Cuba you’re S.O.L. for any type of preferential travel benefits moving forward. Oh well. Who needs speedy customs processing anyway.

9:30 am
We are pleasantly allowed early check in to The Palace. Appropriately so, our room is fit for a Queen.

Spoiled

11:00 am
We discover our stow away. We call him Brave Heart.
This little fellow made the trip across the pacific with us. I can only imagine how cold he must feel here.

The irony does not escape me, as on this same day I realize I technically was a stow away on my trip to Cuba. The only difference is I got caught years later and was not warmly welcomed.

How is it that Richard always slides under the radar? To the best of my recollection he was in Cuba too, however he was approved for Global Entry. Hmmm.

Far From Home

1 pm
Time to meet Hailey’s new boyfriend. They fly in from Boulder to celebrate 50, Fit and Fab. Let’s get this party started!
But first, Richard and I meet a few business contacts in the lobby. Might as well mix a little business with pleasure.

4 pm
We’re ready to rock this town, running shoes and all. As a mama, I am complete with my family all in one place.

And Then There Were Four

5 pm
We stroll up and down 5th avenue and find ourselves at the base of the Rainbow Room along with the rest of the crowd. Apparently everyone had the same good idea. With no movement in the line, and our sneakers sticking out like sore thumbs, we decide it’s time to move on.

We mosey on over to the Peninsula to meet a dear friend and NYC expert, Marna for a quick drink before dinner. She knows EVERYONE in this city.

Marna of Manhattan

In fact, her connections allowed us to get into the overbooked Daniel for one of the most incredible dining experiences our family has ever enjoyed.

Chef Daniel along with Jorge and the staff treated us with white gloves.
(even though the boys did not have required jacket attire)

We definitely brought life to the party as our laughter rang through out the restaurant. Mainly because we couldn’t understand anything on the menu.
It would be safe to say we were happy fish out of water. (kinda like Brave Heart)

A tour through the kitchen allowed us extra time with the Chef and the committed team who created our luxurious meal. It simply doesn’t get better than this.

An inside look

Oh, and my stickers arrived today.
Like breadcrumbs we’ll spread them as we go.
If you see one, you’ll know we’ve passed through town.
If you bump into us, please ask for one!

Pass it on

Good night world.

If you’re reading, tonight my heart is full, my body tired, and my thoughts excited for a crazy wild day in New York as we wake tomorrow.

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit, and Fabulous!

--

--