Day Four: An hour through my eyes.

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
3 min readFeb 9, 2018

Honolulu will always be my first love. Raised here, there’s no better feeling than coming home. Somehow amidst the traffic and crowds, I still see the inner beauty this island has to offer.

As I walked to my reverse surprise birthday breakfast (something I invented just the other day)to meet some business partners, I couldn’t help but feel captivated by my surroundings.

Take a peek into the first hour of my day. It amazes me how much we experience within just an hour.

The Infamous Hilton Hawaiian Village.

I spent a great deal of my early childhood here as my grandmother, Mary Ann Hawkins Midkiff ran her swim school out of the hotel. She was a woman far ahead of her time and was one of the early pioneers in female surfing. She’s taught a great deal of the islands keiki (children) how to swim.

Swimming Selfie go-ers who possibly experienced the ocean for the first time today.

Surfing Joy

Waikiki is Oahu’s most popular surf spot for visitors. Memories are created here that last a lifetime.

The Duke.

Duke Kahanamoku brought popularity and awareness to the beloved sport of surfing. My grandmother was invited to join the Duke’s swimming invitational in Honolulu when she was 18. She took a steamship from LA on her own to participate and fell in love with the island. She was fortunate to spend time with the Duke and learn many of her water skills from him.

Sharing Ideas

We were so impressed with the staff at the Modern we sat down with the GM and head of HR and shared our experience with them. They loved receiving such great feedback. Until Richard shared about his discontent with lack of plus in the room for all his devices! :)

Fruit to Celebrate

Instead of a birthday cake, I was given the most delicious, tasty fruit and cheese platter. The Modern is an absolute MUST when visiting Oahu. Top notch all the way around.

We are off to catch our first REAL flight. We’re heading out to the opposite side of the USA. New York City here we come!

I need your help. We will be landing in the Big Apple and will hit the ground running. What are your favorite spots? We love secret gems so please share all. Please leave your comments here in the blog!

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit, and Fabulous!

--

--