Day Three: Groove is in the heart

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
2 min readFeb 8, 2018
Honolulu Nights

Today was our first official travel day. Although it was only a thirty minute flight, it seemed worlds apart from our little island oasis of Lāna’i.

First stop. Oahu.

And while I am from this majestic island of one million plus people, adjusting to the fast pace frazzle from our cozy nest of 3,000 can sometimes feel daunting.

Have you ever had a day where everything, I mean EVERYTHING goes completely wrong? The kind of day you want a do over on?

Well, today was exactly the opposite kind of day.

It was like the universe reached down, kissed me, and said, “Today is YOUR day! I got your back. ” And so it was.

Usually the day of departure is chaotic, almost comically so.
Today was calm, effortless. Everything flowed. I know adventure lies within adversity, but if even one extra days is as smooth as today, I’ll take it. That’s how epic it was.

No traffic in a traffic ridden town. (even at “rush hour”)
A seamless, quick encounter at apple when getting my new phone. (never in all my days)
exactly $3 needed for the $3 parking lot.
A fabulous haircut at Sanctuary Salon.
An upgrade to a suite at The Modern Honolulu.
The most delicious beet, arugula, burrata salad ever.

Even more extraordinary than the ease of the day, was the people.

I decided that each day when I make a real connection with someone, I will add them to my journal. A journal meant only for new friends I meet along the way. Today I met five.

Five amazing humans who touched my life on this five star day.

I’m gonna keep living each day like it’s my birthday. Want to play along and see what you create?

Oh. And THANK YOU for voting NO on the rebounder. Today was a lot more peaceful between me and the hubby than it might have been.

We may need your help tomorrow so be sure to stay tuned.

Broken Boards from The Pipe Masters greeted us at check in.

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit, and Fabulous!

--

--