Days 28–32: She Comes Back to Life

Kimmy Brooke
Fifty, Fit and Fabulous
4 min readMar 12, 2018

OK, OK. I admit it. For the last 5 days I’ve been sucked into a travelers vortex.

Each overly full day of adventure left for great stories to share and yet somehow as the sun went down, there was always a reason NOT to pull out my laptop.
I’ve been living in the moment, soaking it all in, and being present to our journey. By night’s end, I am wiped and just want to cuddle. Between that and losing all the photos off my sim card, writing wasn’t where my heart was at. Being right in the moment was.

But I’m BACK. And with oh so much to share. Please indulge my longer than usual post to get you caught up. Thank goodness for my iphone.

Noosa brought days of hiking, house hunting, body surfing, and connecting.
After talking with every realtor, and looking at every single apartment available, we FOUND A PLACE TO COME BACK TO!

Yes, we are fairly certain Noosa will be our resting place June-September.

We’ve met many new friends along the way, but by far, Nev Hyman has been the most interesting. A WORLD CHANGER INDEED.
He’s created a way to take plastic from landfills and build homes out of it. Really cool homes. Homes that only take 2 days to put up and can withstand a category 5 storm.

We had the honor of spending some time with him and interviewing him. He left us both feeling optimistic and inspired by what’s possible with his work. I imagine you will find him fascinating as well. If so please share. Everyone needs to know about his vision and what’s possible.

We got caught in the most exceptional downpour before we said goodbye to Noosa and headed to Eumundi Market, the finest market in all of Australia.

Row upon row of tents filled the vast park. With every turn there’s a new path of amazing items to look at. Baskets, fabrics, spices, from all over the world. We were intoxicated by the entrepreneurial spirit in the air.

No better way to end our hours of roaming than with a shiatsu. The best I’ve ever had. I wish Hailey could have seen it all. But we will be back indeed.

Next stop, Brisbane, where we have a Bliss Business event.
While we are missing the salt air of Noosa’s shoreline, we are excited to spend the day with so many Network Marketers. Helping people move forward in their success is by far the most rewarding feeling.

Mission accomplished in Brisbane.

Which leads us to today.

We pack the car early and head south to Byron Bay. Before getting to Australia, we imagined this may be the spot we would choose. But you know when you just know? Like everything just feels right and falls into place? NOOSA.

Poor Byron Bay. It’s got a lot to live up to.

My dear friend Helen has been spot on with recommendations since we’ve been in the area. Today is no different. We check in to Byron on Byron and have a late lunch. Our server learns it’s my birthday (every day for 50 days) and passes the news to Jocelyne, the guests services manager. She showers me with chocolate and we find a bottle of champagne waiting in our room. Birthdays are the best.

We head out to explore the town. It’s much more crowded than Noosa but it definitely has a good vibe.

We stumble upon a mini concert at the edge of the beach. We join the large audience as the sun is saying it’s goodbyes for the night.
Walking Francis got some serious talent. Unfortunately we arrive as he’s finishing up. Hopefully he’ll be back tomorrow.

We wonder the streets a bit more and enjoy the energy of young backpackers filling the cafe’s. This awesome LOVE light allows us an excuse to grab a photo.

While we are enjoying it here, we both are certain that Noosa is where we belong.

I’ve done my best to bring you up to speed without writing the full mini series. We are well over half way done with this adventure and I’m beginning to have the feeling it’s going to end much too quickly. I’m wishing I could slow down what seems to be an ever speeding forward clock.

My question for you now is what do you know about New Zealand? We head there next and know NOTHING. Suggestions greatly welcomed.

Cheers to being Fifty, Fit, and Fabulous!

--

--