Huckleberry Bicycles

1073 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Vincent Serritella Studio
52 Pick Up
3 min readAug 31, 2015

--

Image courtsey of Huckleberry Bicycles

This week we’re back in the city to meet with Zack Stender, one of the owners of Huckleberry Bicycles, which is a full service bike shop located downtown on San Francisco’s historic Market Street. Last week, I called up the shop to see if they’d be interested in being a part of my project and Zack was nice enough to spend a good 20 to 30 minutes with me talking about art, business, 52 Pick Up and what something like this means both to a shop like his and the community in general. Most of the time, I’m working away in my studio in solitude and it’s not until I put my work out there that I know what people are thinking about it. This project reminds me every week that I’m having a small but positive impact on these awesome businesses and it feels great to connect with people that make up the character of the city around me.

Yesterday, I went in to visit Zack at Huckleberry Bicycles and despite the crowds from their annual sale event, he took the time out of his busy day to give me a one on one tour of their shop. He gave me the history of it and even discussed their plans for the future. Huckleberry, once an old theater, is now a well curated and warm space that stocks a diverse selection of road, commuter, touring, and cyclocross rigs. Their mechanic staff and service is top notch and will have you back on the road in no time if you need something repaired or need an added customization to your bike. Their beautifully fabricated display tables and racks are handmade by local wood craftsman. And you have to check out their impressive selection of accessories, bags and apparel. From the people to the service, everything about this special place is worth a visit if you’re in the market for a new bike.

If you find yourself on Market and Seventh Streets, stop in, say hello and pick up this week’s art! You might even ride away on a sweet new bike. :)

From Huckleberry Bicycles

Huckleberry Bicycles is full-service bicycle shop on San Francisco’s historic Market Street. Once home to many bicycle shops and cycling apparel shops at the turn of the century, today Market Street is perhaps the busiest cycling street in the country. We try to harken back to that time when cycling was a functional and fashionable way to get around this beautiful city.

Hours of operation: Weekdays 11:00am-7:00pm, Weekends 12:00am-5:00pm

Week 47 Art

Free Drawing #47, 5.5 x 7 inches, acrylic and watercolor on paper

If you would like to receive notifications when a new article and/or piece of art is uploaded weekly, be sure to follow the collection at 52 Pick Up.

--

--