WEEK 29: MAKEUP

MN
52 Plastic Kisses
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2018

AVOID plastic products. MINIMIZE and SWITCH to plastic-free options.

PROBLEM

Walking past makeup stores, watching magazine covers, ads on tv or watching movies, makes you believe makeup is pretty much what make you pretty. I’ve never enjoyed or cared about makeup as it involved a lot of effort until a year ago I decided to try it. not sure why...so I headed to the nearest sephora and spent a ton of money on a bunch of things.

After a million youtube videos later, I now had a Moisturizer. a Primer. a Foundation. a Suncreen. a Brush to apply the Foundation. A Concealer. A Brush to apply that. A countour stick. A blush set with some shaded for the cheeks. 2–3 brushes to apply that. An eye liner. A mascara. A eyebrow shaper. A eye blush set. A brush to apply that. A lip primer. 4–5 lipsticks. 4–5 lipbalms/chapsticks. A deodrant. A perfume. A fat hairbrush. A thin hairbrush. A night creme. A make up remover. Cotton swabs to clean. A pouch to keep them at home. A pouch for travel. A soap to wash the brushes and box for that soap.

Did it help? Nope. Why? Cause you like eyeliners and rubbing your eyes.

When my zero/low-waste journey started, I decided to stop applying makeup for a while. and nothing changed. no one noticed/cared/asked. And so I realized..

Don’t need no makeup.

So I decided to minimize as much as I can. I’ve narrowed it down to 6 products which have recyclable/compostable substitutes.

SOLUTION

My Stuff

Future Stuff

Based on the order of application.

  1. Hair and Skin Moisturizer, Makeup Remover:

Now: Coconut Oil
Future: Almond Oil or Olive Oil

Coconut oil is too thick and greasy — can cause pimples for skin, gotta switch someday.

2. Sunscreen
(Covered previously)

Now: Old Products
Future: Raw Elements

Safe for your skin, and oceans.

3. EyeLiner/Mascara
Now: Lakme’s Glass Bottle
Future: Etsy Vegan Eyeliner

I use the eyeliner to sharpen my eyelashes. Tada! It’s a mascara.

4. Lipstick/Lipbalm:
Now: Tarte (cruelty free, vegan)
Future: Urbapothecary

4. Comb
(Covered previously)

Now: Bamboo
Future: Bamboo

5. Deodorant
(Covered previously)

Now: Old Products
Future: Crystal

SUMMARY

Try to find items with all these qualities, if possible.

  1. Minimalistic (Buy multipurpose; buy less makeup; saves time & money)
  2. Organic (good for you)
  3. Cruelty Free & Vegan (duh!)
<inserts cheesy cliche image and quote>

KBye! ❤

--

--