WEEK 30: BALLOONS

MN
52 Plastic Kisses
Published in
3 min readOct 21, 2018

AVOID balloons, USE newspaper, old craft paper or just skip them!

Balloons? Let’s face it. We *only* go to parties for the food. Skip the balloons and double the desserts please!

Also, with helium balloons in specific, there is the disproportionate level of risk-reward that they offer.

Give a toddler a balloon? The toddler smiles. Maybe laughs. If he accidentally releases it into the sky? All hell breaks lose. Screaming and wailing and tears. A nightmare, my friends.

It’s just not worth it.

Source: http://www.matthewdicks.com/matthewdicksblog/2012/11/three-reasons-why-helium-balloons-suck.html

1. PROBLEM

Not just balloons but the very idea that extravagant decor is only way we can truely celebrate, be happy and show people that we’re awesome, is sad. I deserve this. My child deserves this. What would people think if they walked into a room with plain walls on my kids birthday? Oh the judgement!

Well, people will always complain and judge. And who says zero waste has to be black and white! It can be pink, green, blue and red and whatever you like (even yellow). It just doesn’t have to be destructive.

Source: https://balloonsblow.org/

2. SOLUTION:

Colorful pretty parties can happen with just the right resources that are reusable and as less wasteful as possible.

IDEA 1 (Colored Paper)

I cut some up on a stack of old colored papers and stuck them up on a wall. And my roommate loved it :)

(some more below….)

(watch this video!)

IDEA 3: Ribbons or Ties (Reuse them of course)

IDEA 1: Plants, Flowers or just Nothing!

Let’s face it. We’re here for the food.

3. SUMMARY

I like “turtles”, I like “balloons”. But if I had to pick one, I’d pick…

--

--