Team Spotlight: Elena

A sustainability advocate and multitasker who can recite pi to 100 decimal places

55 Minutes Team
55 Minutes
5 min readMay 3, 2023

--

Elena and her fur baby Bailey

In this issue of our Team Spotlight, we’re excited to feature Elena, the first official Project Manager here at 55 Minutes.

What were you doing prior to joining 55 Minutes?

I was a Program Manager at a local jewellery brand, looking after all the product development and process improvement projects.

What was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had so far?

The most interesting for me was being a current affairs TV producer at Channel NewsAsia.

It was my first job out of university and I ran the whole production process from ideation, scriptwriting, production planning, interviewing experts and directing the filming to directing the post-production editing. I got such a kick out of hearing my trailers on the radio or catching glimpses of my episodes in doctors’ waiting rooms.

Randomly, one of the most unusual things I can do is recite pi to 100 decimal places. But I guess that’s a ‘job’ I won’t ever get paid for! :)

You’re the first project manager in the team! For those not in the know, what does a project manager do?

A lot! Overall, as a project manager, I facilitate the team to complete projects, from kick off to completion.

This includes developing and documenting a project plan that includes goals, scope, timelines, budget and risks. I then engage with all stakeholders (internal and external) to keep everyone informed of project status and changes.

I monitor progress to ensure that the project is on track to meeting goals and timelines. I mitigate potential issues and risks and adjust the project plan as needed to respond to new situations or changes that may arise.

Did you study to become a project manager?

Yes, I am a certified Project Management Professional (PMP) and Professional Scrum Master (PSM I) in Agile. My bachelor’s degree in Business Management also helps.

What drew you to the job?

I was interested in UX/UI and design thinking so 55 Minutes was an easy match! What really sealed the deal though was when I met Wendy and I realised that the team’s passion was not just in designing fantastic products but also a better society.

What’s your favourite part about working at 55 Minutes?

Everyone in the team is passionate about their job. I love the energy, motivation, dedication and pride that everyone has in their work. Also how supportive and collaborative the team is. Everyone is really good at what they do; they are all experts in their roles, and they are always eager to share their knowledge and help each other.

Elena (far left) together with the team at 55 Minutes celebrating the February babies, Wendy and Luke!

How do your friends describe you? How is that different from how you describe yourself?

Friends describe me as easy-going but actually I can be pretty neurotic! For example, I always have to finish all of my food, I can be quite particular about grammar and spelling, and I insist on brushing my dog’s teeth every night.

What’s your favourite quote?

“Look again at that dot. That’s here. That’s home. That’s us. On it everyone you love, everyone you know, everyone you ever heard of, every human being who ever was, lived out their lives. The aggregate of our joy and suffering, thousands of confident religions, ideologies, and economic doctrines, every hunter and forager, every hero and coward, every creator and destroyer of civilisation, every king and peasant, every young couple in love, every mother and father, hopeful child, inventor and explorer, every teacher of morals, every corrupt politician, every ‘superstar,’ every ‘supreme leader,’ every saint and sinner in the history of our species lived there-on a mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam.

“The Earth is a very small stage in a vast cosmic arena. Think of the endless cruelties visited by the inhabitants of one corner of this pixel on the scarcely distinguishable inhabitants of some other corner, how frequent their misunderstandings, how eager they are to kill one another, how fervent their hatreds. Think of the rivers of blood spilled by all those generals and emperors so that, in glory and triumph, they could become the momentary masters of a fraction of a dot.” — Carl Sagan (1994). Pale Blue Dot: A Vision of the Human Future in Space

Absolutely love this quote. It’s long but every sentence is so poignant.

If there’s one country you’d recommend others to visit, where would it be? Why?

Mongolia on horseback, looking out on an endless plain that stretches beyond the horizon. Being totally immersed in nature’s serenity and grandeur is a humbling and awesome experience.

A gorgeous photo Elena took depicting the expansive beauty of Mongolia

If you were to write a self-help book, what would the title be?

100% OK

Pick how you spend your time wisely, make sure you do things that bring you joy. Then you can give 100% in everything you do. No matter what the outcome is, you can take pride in the fact that it was the best outcome you could have helped yourself achieve. Then here’s the hard part: be OK with it even if it wasn’t ideal. Nothing is 100% perfect but you can be 100% OK with that because you tried your best.

What’s the one thing that people are surprised to learn about you?

I am an introvert! As an introvert, being a project manager is not easy because it involves a lot of interpersonal communication and relationship management that doesn’t come naturally to me so getting better at my job is something I am always working hard to do.

You’re happiest when…?

I eat. I value my creature comforts. :)

It was great to get to know more about Elena and her role at 55 Minutes. Outside of work, you can find Elena together with her husband doting on Bailey, their beloved golden retriever.

--

--

55 Minutes Team
55 Minutes

55 Minutes is a user experience design studio creating innovative solutions by understanding people and using a human-centered approach https://www.55mins.com/