Team Spotlight: Hye Yoon

A researcher and lifelong learner curious to continue experimenting in life

55 Minutes Team
55 Minutes
6 min readOct 11, 2021

--

In this spotlight, we chatted with Hye Yoon, a UX Researcher at 55 Minutes, to learn more about how she got started in research and what she likes to do outside of work!

Q: How did you get interested and started in doing UX research?

A: This question brings me back to more than ten years ago when I graduated from university in Seoul. I studied furniture and spatial design and education at that time was to focus on designing from design experts’ perspectives. I learned from bright and critical thinkers who brought in new areas such as “designing experiences” (e.g. ergonomics and human psychology) and “design process” rather than [simply] designing an object. It was eye-opening and I realized that there were not enough resources in Korea at that time (in 2008–2009), so I decided to study abroad to pursue mmy Master’s in Finland to dig deeper.

Q: How did you know that you wanted to specialize in user research?

A: Design activities are not just about creating tangible artifacts, but it is also about influencing human behavior and emotions at a certain level. This drives me to dig deeper into understanding the process of how humans experience and interact with their surroundings.

Q: What do you think are the most important qualities a good UX researcher should have? How do you build yourself up to be one?

A: Curiosity and collaboration. Curiosity helps you constantly keep asking questions; collaboration because research cannot be done by one person.

Going out traveling is a good way to develop curiosity. And writing your experiences in a personal journal or blog also helps to develop curiosity by thinking about what’s different from the place you grew up in, and what’s similar.

Photo from a community design research activity that Hye Yoon conducted in Finland showing the value of curiosity and collaboration with the community.

Q: Some people may have this assumption that UX research activities like user interviews are not rocket science — and anyone can do it since it’s just talking to people and asking them questions. What would you say to them?

A: Those who are specialized in UX research wouldn’t agree with the statement because we can’t just ask random questions when talking with users. We all agree that having a good user interview includes well-defined key questions. Different types of questions and methods can guide you to a different outcome.

Q: What excites you about UX research?

A: Too many aspects! It helps you understand why you should go in a certain direction in the design process or why a certain solution should or should not work. Experimenting with various methods also makes me feel excited and each time is a great chance to learn a new thing!

Q: What do you find is the most challenging?

A: As mentioned, design is not just about creating an object; it is a process to innovate and provide a solution for users. So having a research process for better design solutions is an essential part. But for some entrepreneurs, UX research could be a good-to-have option, and not essential when it comes to the ROI of UX research and its value.

I’m very grateful whenever I see clients who value research and consider research insights useful and hope many more people are aware of the value of UX research.

Q: And how do you keep yourself motivated on days you feel tired from the work you do?

A: I have high gratification from my job, but when I feel tired sometimes, I review my work process and reflect on the causes of it to understand where my tiredness comes from. Having downtime for myself helps, knowing my limit and when I need to stop.

In terms of team culture here in 55 Minutes, I can talk about any negative emotions (e.g. tiredness) in a safe way so that I can gain support and seek a solution together, which actually helps me be more motivated at the end of the day.

Hye Yoon (front right) celebrating her birthday with the 55M team. The way the team celebrates each other’s birthday with hands crafted cards and a special gift is fun and memorable.

Q: Speaking about culture, how would you describe the culture of the team? And what about that culture is most attractive to you?

A: All team members, although they are specialized in different parts of the design process, are very into enlarging our horizontal “T,” practicing the overall process of design thinking and human-centered approach which drive us to solve the right problems of users. Other than this part, it’s so fun that we’re open and trying to learn from each other’s different perspectives, as each of us comes from a different background.

Q: Apart from chasing insights from research, tell us what other interests you pursue. How do you keep these interests alive?

A: I want to keep exploring and experimenting with new elements of my life. I try to find a like-minded person with who I can share my interests with. A few months ago, system thinking methods caught my attention, so I joined some online courses required to find a group of people to discuss and process it together and it definitely helps!

Q: If you could have any job outside of UX and Design, what would it be

A: I’d be an art manager, curating events, exhibitions, and programs to support artists, designers, and craftsmen. This is what I was doing in Korea, but I’ve hardly seen this job in Singapore. Otherwise, a movie director for a short documentary or producing a short clip for an interesting storytelling…? All my teammates in 55 Minutes will know what I mean by this!

Q: You’re from Korea, so we’re curious to know if you could bring any store from Korea to Singapore (shopping, restaurant, or service), what would it be?

A: When I first visited Singapore (in 2015), I was thinking that a food delivery service is missing here, which is very common in Korea. But these days there are various options such as GrabFood, Foodpanda, and Deliveroo.

When it comes to a specific place, it would be Piknic; it’s a cultural complex where you can experience a piece of art, have a cup of tea or coffee in a poetic, quiet, and respected space. I wonder if busy working Singaporeans in their 30’s and 40’s could use this kind of space from time to time.

An example of a Piknic exhibition space around the theme of mindfulness. They designed a special space for visitors to enjoy a slow mindful walk.

Q: Tell us one of your favorite comfort foods from Korea and one from Singapore.

A: Tteokbokki and Bibimbob are my favorite comfort foods from Korea. As for Singapore, I like fried oysters and Char kway teow!

Q: Last question! Can you share with us your current reading list?

A:

It was a pleasure to chat with Hye Yoon and learn about her experiences at 55 Minutes. Outside of work, she enjoys observing her surroundings from the lens of a tourist. She also loves nature and goes cycling every weekend in the Northeast region of Singapore.

--

--

55 Minutes Team
55 Minutes

55 Minutes is a user experience design studio creating innovative solutions by understanding people and using a human-centered approach https://www.55mins.com/