Team Spotlight: Pradnya

A book-lover on a constant self-growth journey

55 Minutes Team
55 Minutes
6 min readJun 28, 2021

--

In this Team spotlight, we talk to Pradnya, an adventurous bookworm at heart, she loves creating and exploring new experiences from a cafe in Bedok to a spin class at Zouk.

Q: Hi Pradnya! Can you describe to us your role at 55 Minutes and what your day-to-day looks like?
A:
I work as a UX UI designer! My typical day is a bunch of thinking, creating, and collaborating with my team. I work on conceptualizing and creating digital interfaces that users would ultimately use, but I also work with my team on user research and ideations.

Q: What do you enjoy most about your role?
A: I like knowing that what I do helps people! We all know how frustrating it is to be stuck because of the constraints and it’s even more annoying when it’s critical. I’m always grateful to the person that removes that pain. That emotion is what I like. And as a designer, I like anything that is intricate and detailed. Designing a user experience feels somewhat similar. There is a level of complexity that feels like a pretty spider’s web.

Q: What are three words you’d use to describe 55 Minutes? (You can interpret that however you wish — the team, people, work, etc.
A: Creative, Exciting, Users

Q: Why did you choose those words?
A: Creative because nothing we do in UX UI is static. The world changes and so does our work. We have to have our creative juices flowing on whatever we work on!
Exciting because every day there is something new to work on. It’s similar to a puzzle where when we solve it, it gives me a rush.
Users because there wouldn’t be 55 Minutes without our users. They are our bread and butter.

Q: What’s your biggest learning so far in your role? What do you still have yet to learn/want to learn?
A: How to work as a “we” not “I”. Many say teamwork is important, but not everyone practices it. UX UI requires a lot of back and forth and team discussions. You have to be willing to stand up for your ideas and also know when to stand down too. You always have to be actively listening and communicating! I want to learn how to take effective notes during meetings and converse at the same time. It’s so easy for some people!

Q: How have you kept yourself grounded during the pandemic?
A: Just working on myself mentally and physically and making sure that I don’t have time to feel bored which is so easy to do at the moment. The key is to always be doing something.

Q: How do you keep your creative and collaborative work with your team going strong when working remotely during the pandemic?
A: It’s pretty simple: be present. Our mindset to be open and communicative is pretty important to teamwork. You wouldn’t believe how many people aren’t listening to each other even when they are face-to-face and physically present. So I don’t think remoteness of our work right factors in so much. The little factors are just the technical constraints, which will evolve eventually.

When Pradnya isn’t cuddling up with her friend’s dog, you’d find her curled up with a good book.

Q: I understand you love to read, and the team has given you a book as a gift for your birthday. Tell us more about your love for reading?
A: I have always loved to read since I was young. I started out with reading novels, those really thick ones! Whenever I read a booking, I get so immersed in those pages. It’s like your mind is in another dimension, where the story is unfolding. It’s literally like a movie playing in your mind. And since I like deep-diving into things, my love for books just grew over the years. Now I read a lot more non-fiction books!

Q: If you could pick one theme/title for 55 Minutes to turn into a book about the company, what would it be?
A: 55 Teamtastic Moments in Work and Life

Q: What are your top 5 must-read book recommendations, and why these books?
A: I have many, but the ones I have gone through and would recommend are:

  1. Breathe — James Nester (It’s an eye-opening look into the importance of breathing. It will be helpful in many aspects of your life)
  2. Atomic Habits — James Clear (If you are looking to be more effective, starting with habit helps)
  3. Born a Crime — Trevor Noah’s autobiography (It’s a very true but funny view into the apartheid from a comedian’s view)
  4. I know why the caged bird sings — Maya Angelou’s autobiography (It’s a very poignant look at we can overcome anything)
  5. When breath becomes air — Paul Kalanithi (It’s a true story that shows how to live because all that we are is because we are alive. It’s a realistic portrayal of dealing with death ( — grim? hehe)

Q: What about UX or UI? What books would you say are must-reads?
A: I would personally recommend Nir Eyal’s Hooked and Jesse James Garette’s The Elements of User Experience. And there are classics like Dieter Rams’ Ten Principles for Good Design and Don Norman’s Emotional Design that are so worth reading anyway. But, if anyone wants a hand-on experience, I would definitely want them to get Solving Product Design Exercises by Artiom Dashinsky.

Q: I hear that you are very disciplined with your exercise regime, as well as your dietary decisions. Could you share what got you started on this journey? What are your tips for the readers out there who struggle with being so disciplined?
A: It would be a bit cliche to say that my main motivation to start was for a shredded bod. But, I started on this in college. We all know our early 20s were so stressful and I used to de-stress by stress-eating. This was bad though. Therefore, I started on this path. I was an athlete during my school year so this was easy to incorporate. My dietary decision is to only keep myself in check. I still have my sandwiches and burgers! P.S I’m more energetic during my low caloric days!

Honestly though, this was and is a long journey. There were many failures and setbacks but these are normal. The main thing would be to not to ever lose hope. Think of this journey as a lifelong wellness journey for thyself. After all, “Rome wasn’t built in a day”

A pandemic can’t stop Pradnya from going on a good nature trail.

Q: You wake up early in the morning to exercise. And you handle multiple projects simultaneously (as a UXUI designer). How does getting up early and a workout impact your day at work?
A: Personally, I love getting up early. Knowing you are one of very few where else everyone is away (sleeping) gives me a sense of privacy. You get some peace and quiet before the daily humdrum. Those few hours of mindfulness-filled rituals are precious to me because it’s the key to getting my day done right. By the time I start work, I am more ready and motivated than being groggy and lethargic. I have been through it to know how big that difference is!

Q: As an avid traveler, how many countries have you traveled to? What do your travels do for you as a designer?
A: I always loved traveling. I’m actually a late bloomer. I started adventuring out after high school. I have traveled to a lot of Asian countries though. So in total, around 6. Travelling is such an eye-opening experience. You can really see how different everyone, everything is. Your assumptions and preconceptions are thoroughly squashed! As a designer, these experiences help me build empathy and gives me a broader perspective.

Q: Who is your favorite female superhero, or your favorite female leader that you like to be and why?
A: I have many role models I look up to. But, if she were to be a super-shero, I would want to emulate Wonder Woman because she carries warrior-like characteristics. She is fearless and strong (mind and body) which is something I always aim towards.

Q: Last question! What’s your favorite color and why?
A: I like Navajo Turquoise! It looks like a deep-sea green/blue. I like this color because it reminds me of the seas and oceans. They are symbols of vastness, peace, and calm.

--

--

55 Minutes Team
55 Minutes

55 Minutes is a user experience design studio creating innovative solutions by understanding people and using a human-centered approach https://www.55mins.com/