Five photos with total strangers in China

Alex Lane
Five by five
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2016

5x5 One of the strangest things about travelling in China as a Westerner is that if you stand still for long enough, someone will ask to have their photo taken with you. It’s usually young people, and usually in remote places or tourist hotspots, where you could be the first person they’ve seen who doesn’t look Asian.

After the first time, I made a point of asking them to take a photo with my phone as well. They seemed to think this was a really strange request, but happily for me they complied. So, mysterious Chinese people, my thanks to you for another 5x5.

1 Huangshan, Anhui province. As I rested atop the real Misty Mountain, three young women and their male friend asked for a snap. Naturally, he was taking the photos.

Someone’s been practicing their photo-face

2 Near Xi’an, Shaanxi province. In a taoist temple near the central city of Xi’an (home to the Terracotta Warriors), these three cheeky chaps asked for a pic. Rocky, my excellent guide with the Insiders tour group, took camera duty.

Tuesday was tight-trouser day

3 Also near Xi’an, Shaanxi province. Outside Xi’an, Shaanxi is pretty rural and untouched by Western shoes, so it’s no surprise there was a few youth asking for pics. These students were hanging around in the shade by a Chinese vineyard. Chinese wine is very poor, so don’t expect to see it in Tesco any time soon.

Loving the T-shirts and fringes

4 Xi’an, Shaanxi province. As well as being a major tourist trap, Xi’an is also a bustling industrial city, with more technical universities than any other city in China. This girl and her friend cornered me and this chap at the Bell Tower in the centre of Xi’an. I’m guessing that we both fitted the general category of ‘old’ from their perspective. He’s actually just 35, but it’s a tough life over there.

If you’re going to Xi’an Francisco…

5 The Forbidden City, Beijing As touristy a tourist hotspot as you can find in China, it was no surprise to be stopped for a photo in the immense (although kind of underwhelming) Forbidden City. Due to poor planning on my part, I visited the Forbidden City twice, and was stopped for tourist photos on both occasions.

I do not, and have never, owned a selfie stick

--

--

Alex Lane
Five by five

I write what I want to, when I want to. If you’re interested in the novels I’m writing, take a look at www.alexanderlane.co.uk