Five wonderful midweek musings coming your way

Alex Lane
Five by five
Published in
3 min readAug 24, 2016

5x5 I wasn’t just looking for an alliterative title to the third day of the week — Wonder Wednesday is also a way to expand my horizons beyond travel, monkeys and the occasional political rant. So here are five subjects I think are wonderful enough to make into a humpday listicle.

This was taken 50 years ago by NASA’s Lunar Orbiter 1, and it’s even more amazing than you think (NASA)

1 Space I love space, whether it’s gazing at the stars and learning about all that’s out there, in view but beyond our reach, to the cosmology behind it and the space technology, engineers and astronauts who are helping us begin to step beyond the Earth. Did you know that today is the 50th anniversary of the first photograph of the Earth from space?

Science. Or maybe engineering (UCL Mathematical and Physical Sciences)

2 Science In no particular order: physics (the bits my brain can comprehend), psychology, the environment, a bit of zoology, neuroscience, and the history and philosophy of science. I also love science fiction and the interplay between fact, speculation and creativity that drives the best SF.

Portable home cinema — where gadgets, home cinema and travel collide. I love it

3 Tech I hate The Gadget Show (three infantilised adults shouting “TECH” does not a gripping half-hour make) but I love a well-crafted bit of tech that fits my needs. I’ve got a soft spot for home cinema and smart home kit, I need a new activity monitor, and maybe there’s room to lampoon some of the undoubted crap that Kickstarter keeps asking me to fund?

Iain M Banks Culture fans will be impressed by the Starbase Yorktown in Star Trek Beyond (Screenrant)

4 Science fiction I’ve been a science fiction junkie for as long as I can remember, in print, on TV, in film and games. Star Trek Beyond unexpectedly proved there’s life in SF movies without superheroes, and there are some promising sci-fi TV shows if you can afford the subscriptions to Netflix, Amazon Prime and Sky.

Maps are awesome. What’s this one all about? (Oscar Ventner)

5 Awesomeness If it makes me go WOW, hmmmm, or stroke my beard in a contemplative fashion, I’ll stick it on the Wonder Wednesday writing list to share with the world.

--

--

Alex Lane
Five by five

I write what I want to, when I want to. If you’re interested in the novels I’m writing, take a look at www.alexanderlane.co.uk