Five milestones on the Travel Tuesday route map

Alex Lane
Five by five
Published in
3 min readAug 23, 2016

5x5 It might keep the Independent travel section going every single week, but I want to hold my Travel Tuesday to more than just ‘the best things in X’. Here are five things you can expect to read about.

I would recommend the Moscow underground. The Tube looks a bit shit in comparison

1 Travel musings Wonders of the world, bucket list destinations, unexpected pleasures, must-sees, disappointments and places to avoid — if I can think of five I’ll stick it on my list of travel topics for a rainy day. Rainy day travel destinations? I’ll take that, but where?

What! I’m in a 5x5?

2 Quirky places I like odd places and bravely misconceived museums, like the badly-stuffed animals at the Irish Natural History Museum (I’m told the British Natural History Museum also has an embarrassing collection of crap taxidermy). Any recommendations of heroic failures will be taken up gladly. I’m quite tempted to revisit Madame Tussaud’s, which I recall being one of the most absurd things I’ve ever seen.

Nerdy and historical. But what is it?

3 Nerdy places In the pecking order of museums and galleries, space trumps general science, then natural history and finally regular history (unless it’s got a quirky angle). I’ve been saving up a couple of geeky travel locations and stories for the autumn.

These things are important

4 Travel tech and kit A good bit of tech can make travelling so much easier or more enjoyable, whether it’s Google Translate, an international plug with built-in USB chargers, or great bags and boots. Sometimes a bit of travel tech requires another bit to make it even more convenient, and you have to be careful not to become like the woman who swallowed a fly…

Travel Tuesday or Fun Friday?

5 Sometimes it’s just a travel blog I go somewhere, see five things I found interesting, and write about them. Hopefully I took photos. Hey, it’s my 5x5. But I’ll try to think of themes, because I like them.

--

--

Alex Lane
Five by five

I write what I want to, when I want to. If you’re interested in the novels I’m writing, take a look at www.alexanderlane.co.uk