Badass Women of 2016 Conversation

Jax
5ive
6 min readDec 23, 2016

--

Matthew: My list for this week is all black women

Jeremy: I’m still thinking about who’ll make my list

Jeremy: Great list [Jackie] I don’t think my list will be as diverse as yours.

Jackie: In the beginning I had mostly black, activist who are all great (obvi), but I wanted to show other women also. Marley Dias was always my #1, though

Jeremy: That’s a great pick. I love the Olympian. My son did fencing for a couple of months before he lost interest

Matthew: It was unintentional on my part and at the end of creating my list I realized I had picked all black women.

Jackie: I’m excited to see your list, Matt. It’ll be good. I WANT FENCE! They so cool and elegant.

Matthew: Dope list, Jackie. Introducing me to women I was unware of.

Jackie: I heard about Balkissa Chaibou from Ginny Hansen who was on one of lists last year. (She has the rescue home in Cambodia) Harvey and I started playing Counter Strike for the same reason: a guy we had a crush on played it… Except she left the guy and kept playing and is now uber famous in the e-gaming world.

Matthew: Oh the things we do for love. I myself did things to win overs girl that I look back in embarrassment on.

Jackie: What are your thoughts on eGames being in the summer and winter Olympics? Because it’s happening.

Jeremy: It is? idk, they have shooting at the summer games, so why not eGames?

Matthew: Is poker going to be an Olympic sport too? I would see why the Olympics would want to include eGames for monetary reasons and it does require a lot of skill but I’m not so sure it falls under athleticism.

Jackie: “Future tournaments planned for Pyeongchang in 2018 and Tokyo in 2020.” I’m not gonna hate, because I think it’ll be fun to know of gamers in other countries who do it as a profession. Maybe I’ll train up, join a team, and finally, fulfill my lifelong dream of winning a silver Olympic medal.

I CAN DO IT!

Jeremy: I’m fine with it, even though I am totally not a gamer. I believe in you, Jackie!

Jackie: No, Matt. Poker isn’t a sport. DUH

Jeremy: But cribbage is.

Jackie: Right. But they have to wear those fingerless leather gloves for added hardcore-ness

Matthew: And wear sunglasses indoors.

Jackie: Yes.

Jeremy: Not as easy as it looks

Jackie: Your list posted, [Matt]!

Matthew: Holla!

Jackie: Simone Biles! Yes!

Jeremy: I thought about including her on my list

Matthew: She destroyed the Olympics

Jackie: She totally did.

Jeremy: I’m having trouble picking my last two picks

Matt: You’re Welcome.

Matthew: You’re welcome

Jeremy: Helpful

Matthew: My crush Michelle Alexander?

Jeremy: Yeah, I was leaning towards her, but I haven’t read her book yet

Matthew: Neither have I

Jeremy: Well, my list is done and will post in about 30

Jeremy: I wish I could have done a deeper dive. There’s so many awesome women out there that I’m not seeing

Matthew: Same.

Jackie: I love that Michelle Obama made a list ❤

Jeremy: She’s the best! Have you seen any excerpts from her interview with Oprah?

Matthew: She is a class act all around and delivers some 🔥🔥 speeches. And that carpool karaoke with Missy Elliott? I mean come on!

Jackie: That carpool was awesome. I haven’t seen her excerpts. I’ll look ’em up.

Jeremy: She is so effortlessly cool. She’s so much charisma

Matthew: Didn’t see the Oprah interview but it sounds good.

Jackie: I Really like the Obama family.

Jeremy: In the clips I’ve seen she keeps it real. She talks about how we’ve lost so much of the hope that Barack brought to the WH

Matthew: Years of wrongful attacks on Obama. Sure I disagree with Barack on things but the way he carried himself as a president will be sorely missed.

Jackie: I’ve been thinking about The Fits. That ending gave me a flashback that I mostly forgot about. Because it was so weird for me. I went to church camp one year (while being raised as an atheist). It was a super odd experience for me. Still feels embarrassing a little bit. And every night there was worship and alter call. And every night all the kids around me would start speaking in tongues and fainting. And then they’d get up and go to the cafeteria for dinner. (Dinner was always on your own time.) Anyway, I usually stayed and watched and then went to dinner on my own. But one night, I was like, “whatever. How hard can talking jibberish be.” And so I just started talking jibberish and flailing and a group of kids and counselors came and laid hands on me and I distinctly remember a woman whispering in my ear “Thank you, Jesus, for this soul.” I sat on the floor and then said I wanted to eat dinner and the whole group ate dinner with me. And every night after. For a really long time I thought for sure I had committed some sort of fraud sin and told my mom I needed to confess some stuff to a Father. She was so confused (and so was I, obviously).

Jeremy: That experience seems to be exactly what the film is trying to tap into, the desire to fit in

Matthew: I really need to watch that movie this weekend

Jackie: Yeah. That ending hit hard. I think most my life was me trying to fit in somewhere. But that church camp experience was like a direct reflection of hers.

WATCH IT.

Jeremy: It’s interesting how that movie and Lemonade both had black girls dancing in an empty swimming pool

Jackie: Most underprivileged neighborhoods have empty pools.

Jeremy: Right, and there’s the issue of black people being excluded from pools. It strikes me as symbol of strength and resilience

Jackie: Yeah, I liked that #5 pick.

Darya Safai. Olympics 2016
Chilean girl protesting Augusto Pinochet
Erin Michelle Threlfall. Protest against President elect Donald Trump
Iesha Evans. Louisiana. #BLM

Jeremy: That last one is the image of the year, I think

Jackie: These have been my favorite iconic photographs of the year involving women. Yes, agreed.

Jeremy: They’re all great, but that last one is just…wow. Her calmness and strength

Matthew: I grew up in a black neighborhood and they shut down the public pool. That last photo is incredible.

--

--

Jax
5ive
Editor for

Thinker of simple thoughts complicated by manic daydreams.