The Extra-Terrestrial

Martin Hudymač
5min columns
Published in
2 min readMay 20, 2015

Spring is here, sunny days are longer. I still have a chance to exchange my working bag for my younger son who is one and a half and take him for a walk. I mean — for a ride. Maciej loves his tricycle. It’s a push-bike, so I’m always right behind him. He seats proudly and look like pop in his papa mobile.

Recently I’ve noticed out that every time my first couple of minutes I am pushing the tricycle very intensively, my steps are still quick and my mind is still in the office. Then Maciej want to turn back, because he saw a pigeon or squirrel round the corner. So go back. My steps are slowing down, the rhythm of my movements and my mind is adapting to the world around and to the needs of my son. He is very demanding in this matter. I must say. I have no chance to think about my work, all the attention is focused in his world. On my son. Entirely.

Many people practice jogging as a way to relax and a way to run away from work and from the office. Pushing tricycle is the same. You are slowing down, but you are not running away, you are adapting to the world and to the needs of another independent entity.

When I am coming back to home, I feel a pleasant fatigue. Pushing tricycle is like an experience of levitating around, changing my office world for a children world.

May 2015

--

--

Martin Hudymač
5min columns

Umberto Eco’s & Vladimir Nabokov’s world indefatigable traveller, 37signals Rework dogmas’ follower, Ken Robinson’s revolution partisan