Promoting Global Awareness of the Capabilities of People with Disabilities through Poetry

SisterCitiesInternational
60 Days of Impact
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2016
PSC Taipei Committee Chair Lin Ling Lee accepts the ICWD award on behalf of Hau-Hsaun Hung by Commission Member Michael Brown, PSC Taipei Committee Chair Lin Ling Lee PSC/DAC Vice Chair Mary Jane Trunzo, and Disability Awareness Committee Chair Michael Sleeseman.

The Phoenix Sister Cities Disability Awareness Committee (DAC) was the first of its kind developed in the United States. To this day, Phoenix Sister Cities remains the only local sister cities program with a committee that focuses on disability issues by increasing awareness.

Each year, DAC hosts an International Competition for Artists, Writers, and Photographers with disabilities to promote global awareness of the capabilities of people with disabilities. See below for the winners of the 2015 writers competition based on the theme “A Voice of Our Own.”

2015 Winners: International Competition for Writers with Disabilities

A Voice of Our Own (1st Place)

By Hua-Hsaun hung, Taipei, Taiwan

Like a whale in the deep sea, my scream.

Sounds like a sigh only:

Like a butterfly in the divingbell, my flap.

Sounds like a sigh only;

Like untying knots with one hand.

Each of the words from my heart is unintelligible,

Seemingly calm, I hurry-scurry choose my

expressive countenances;

Seemingly hurry-scurry, I calmly hum my

favorite ballad.

Like murmurs in the pine woods, Lightning

flashes and thunder rumbles,

Sounds like a sigh only.

Everyone Needs A Helping Hand (2nd place)

By Jennifer Hynes, Ennis, Ireland

Verse 1

Everyone needs a helping hand as life is a

time to understand.

Life is full of ups and downs and is never

easy from what it sounds.

A friend is a person who is aware and is

never spare when I am in despair.

Verse 2

My friends have overcome many challenges.

A huge inspiration this is to me.

We do not let challenges stand in our way.

Instead we greet everyday in a cheery way

with a winning smile to make everyone’s

day.

Breaking Down Barriers…Opening Doors (3rd place)

By Jorge Gonzalez, Phoenix, Arizona

We tried to tell you but you didn’t hear.

We tried to approach you but we sensed fear.

You are afraid of all things unknown.

But those fears we’ll take away with a voice of our own.

We hoped to know you but you walked away.

We hoped to show you but you wouldn’t stay.

We were just children, but, oh, how I’ve grown.

We’re here to tell you in a voice of our own.

A great, big ole thanks to those who paved the way

To the pioneers before us, who inspire us today.

A great big ole hug to those who blazed the trail,

Who left us a path to follow when you thought we

would fail.

We wanted to help you but you turned away and ran.

We wanted to aide but you saw a lesser plan.

You couldn’t see that we are all made of flesh and bone.

We’re here to dispel stereotypes in a voice of our own.

I thought you could change you but you changed me.

I thought you were better but now that I can see,

I see all the lessons you’ve inadvertently shown.

I see what I couldn’t and hear a voice of our own.

A humble acknowledgement to those who came before.

The ones who broke down barriers and opened up doors.

A nod and a wink to those who helped us get here.

A place without limits, a place without fear.

Click here to learn more about Phoenix Sister Cities’ DAC.

--

--