Food Is Not The Enemy, And Neither Is Sugar

Ask me how I know.

Shannon Ashley
60 Months to Ironman

--

A couple of weeks ago, Shaunta Grimes and I were chatting about eating and obesity when Shaunta explained that she doesn’t believe in food addiction.

I had to think about that for a minute because my knee jerk reaction was to say that no, I’m definitely a food addict. But Shaunta made a valid point.

I was wrong about food addiction.

Coming out of that conversation was a very uncomfortable reality--I am not a food addict, but I do have an eating addiction. I am not like an alcoholic who will drink mouthwash for a buzz. I can pass up potato chips in flavors I don't like, and I don't have an addiction to sugar that causes me to raid my daughter's stash of gummies or Skittles.

So, I eat what I like but skip what I don't.

And I frequently eat too much.

I binge and restrict, but these days, the binge episodes outweigh the restriction. And it’s really more the act of eating, and even the act of purchasing food that I have the biggest problems with.

Sure, like countless others, I have a problem labeling certain foods good and other foods bad. But it's very easy to make food out to be the villain. It's almost more acceptable to say that I'm addicted…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
60 Months to Ironman

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com