Telemarketer loves Margaritaville!

Fred Showker
60-Second Window
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2024

As you all know by now, I’ve been posting my telemarketing block lists for the past year or so. Here’s a funny one. . .

After the passing of Jimmy Buffett, I’ve started playing “Margaritaville” very loud into the phone to telemarketers. I know, it’s stupid, but I enjoy it.

You know I always call back to vet the spammer. Sometimes I’ll call them back several times and just let Margaritaville play out — the time it takes them to hang up gets shorter each time. In many of the telemarketing call centers you’ll get a different operator and the ultimate is when they give you voice mail! I play the entire song into their voice mail. Sometimes, I’ll call back and play several songs.

In one of these episodes, with the phone on speaker so they could hear the music, I heard a female voice say “Oh I love that song!” … and she did not hang up! I finally had to hang up after the song was nearly over.

If you’ve got a little time to kill, have fun and a good laugh by watching what some other folks do the reap TELEMARKETER REVENGE!

Crazy yes. A waste of time, yes. Fun yes.

Fins up, Bubbles up, and thanks for reading.

60-Seconds published online since 1985 . . .

Facebook/60-Seconds | Twitter/60-Seconds | Medium/60-Seconds | Teachable Moments | Facebook DT&G

In case you get to read this article, and it’s not censored or blocked by Medium or Facebook, here’s a Facebook / Twitter friendly MEME you can post if you agree that telemarketing calls and robo calls are evil.

--

--

Fred Showker
60-Second Window

Design, Typography & Graphics Magazine and 60-Seconds exploring technology since 1987