The wonderful and fearsome world of Julio Galán

Analysis of one of his works.

Las siete y más
7 and more

--

https://www.wikiart.org/es/julio-galan

Julio Galán was a Mexican artist of the 1980s whose works were internationally recognized. He constantly displayed his paintings in large cities such as Mexico, New York, Holland, Italy, Paris, among others.

His work is autobiographical and is recognized by various critics for being truly faithful to the essence of Galán and not being influenced by commercial art. Galán’s canvases are characterized by being a contrasting mixture of the sweetness of a childhood, but also how difficult and terrible the infancy could have been. Through his strokes and colors he shares with us the view of his own world, but it also serves as a form of self-discovery, as he comments in the following sentence:

“The vocation was born with me. I can’t remember now when was the first painting. I always painted, my parents framed them, it sounds contradictory, but they framed them. I felt, what I feel right now, the need to discover something new. I am always chasing something new in paintings, I find myself more and more. My paintings, besides being surprising, are a mirror “

https://unsplash.com/@vincefleming

--

--

Las siete y más
7 and more

ESP/ ENG | Art for every taste | "La cultura te dice que te apures, mientras que el arte te dice que tomes tu tiempo. Siempre escucha al arte." -Junot Díaz