Quote of the Week

By E.M. Bounds

Gabriela B.
7AM x W*
2 min readMar 2, 2016

--

“Our praying need to be pressed and pursued with an energy that never tires, a persistency which will not be denied, and a courage that never fails.”

From personal observation, prayer has covered and protected me, healed me through trials of forgiveness and resentment, and also given me exuberant energy to tackle any challenge head-on. The narrative to a peaceful life is centered around prayer and meditation. For some, prayer and meditation go hand-in-hand, so I am not leaving anyone out because I do both. It’s a matter of life or death for me. But I had to cultivate the mentality of a person who prays once I decided to heal every espect of me that wasn’t benefiting my peace of mind.

Make sure to check out the scientific benefit of prayer below:

The Story Behind The Quote:

Praying is fairly new in my life, at least since the last time I’ve taken note that I am actively and strategically praying that is. Sure, I’ve prayed to God in my adolescent stage and even my pre-teen stage. Not even knowing what I was doing it for or anything. Yet, none of those times I prayed for my grades, or for my parents to give me more freedom, or even prayed for silly things, did I have a relationship with God or cared to uphold my part of the relationship (really). Incorporating prayer cultivates a whole ‘nother relationship with the Creator of the universe. All I knew about praying is that I would ask God for anything and, think, “I shall receive it because I know God loves me and I love God.” I knew my prayers would reach(even in my own ignorance). Certainly not at all my own though — my abuelas in Honduras are always holding your girl down. All I know, now, is once I committed to praying more, then the more than I saw myself opening up to life. That means: I choose to allow my thinking to shift in alignment to God’s promises. I choose to no longer see myself as a character that lacks but rather an active character who is open to change, or just seeing more than what is before, whether it’s a challenge or a lesson to be learned. Prayer left me feeling lighter with every step towards my destiny, and more at peace.

Personally, prayer is my way to communicate with God. To activate a positive atmostphere around myself. It keeps me focused on my goals. It affirms me of God’s promises.

The “Quote of the Week” will be posted every Tuesday or Wednesday to keep the spark ignited from the beginning of the week shining bright. These quotes are here to serve one purpose: inspire you.

I hope you enjoy and if you wish to submit any, email me gblanco1@me.com or send me a tweet from my profile page.

--

--

Gabriela B.
7AM x W*

Just a millennial momtrepreneur with too many snacks in her vintage bag. @giftsofgabb via Twitter and IG for all comments or to just say hi!