Gabriela B.
7AM x W*
Published in
1 min readFeb 9, 2016

--

I hate to admit it but it’s true. Most creative artists are quitters. In the best way possible, too.

I paint, write, manage media and teams, alongside raising a jubilant two-year old. I run the day-to-day of my household meanwhile still finding time to travel, eat delicious food, and find some quiet “me” time. Problem solving is the cause to my creative outlet. It is why I call myself creative. I find an outlet for every aspect of my personality and never force myself to fit in.

The creative side of my brain doesn’t sleep either. And my imagination only becomes more practical to live out. Yet, I’ve learned to walk away and silence that overwhelming voice that fakes perfection. This is a part of the process, or the art of creating. I’ve noticed: this only happens when I’m too attached. Too, “into” wanting it to be something other than what the end-result is. Too controlling. And that’s when I quit. I give up on putting so much energy into my wants. It takes my focus away from the truth:

Art IS art. It’s emotional, moving, and extremely strategic(even if it’s “not on purpose.”) It’s love in a different language.

My secret to truly love whatever I create is to first create it with it’s initial passion, it’s original message or intention, and then step away from it. You will notice mistakes and little nuances, but you can at least walk away KNOWING you gave it your honest best.

Let’s chat! @HONDURANQUEEEN

--

--

Gabriela B.
7AM x W*

Just a millennial momtrepreneur with too many snacks in her vintage bag. @giftsofgabb via Twitter and IG for all comments or to just say hi!