Paths and Trails

Nike Pearse-Olorunfemi
7DaysWritingQuest
Published in
2 min readJun 30, 2021

Growing up as the last-born child, my perception towards the world was easy, do whatever you want, no rules, and every direction was a way forward. Kind of felt good but not ideal because I wasn’t aware of the realities of life.

Like a dream, I wake up and begin to face the realities and responsibilities of life. Thanks to social media, you actually wonder do some people have a secret easier path to life, everything for them seems perfect and smooth like the ‘’I woke up like this’’ kind of path.

But despite the persona, people seem to display, our path each day is an experience. My path was one I thought I would change, but thinking back on every step, every moment, every bad decision, and every good decision is the reason why I can write and express myself today.

Of course, some paths were messy, rocky and I probably should have taken another turn, but today I realize these paths define my uniqueness. No one else can share the story of my paths like I will. The lights, the action, the drama, the dark nights, and the bright nights, oh what a path. Now I am gradually appreciating and proud to share every path I journeyed with you cause I am only human.

With each path, we leave a trail and some trails we hide and do not want anyone to trace. I will be honest, some paths felt like pain, some I could endure, some I wondered why it had to happen and some I had to find a way out. But in it all, I learned that as much as I wanted the pain to fade away, I gained strength, I gained experience, and I gained knowledge.

Each day and each footstep is a path and a trail to leave and live without regrets. I choose not to walk this path alone but with the ONE who made me, HE leads and I follow so that I can be a trail that will impact generations.

--

--