做個追求現實的人

Joanne
800 Unicorn
Published in
3 min readMay 30, 2020
來源:Ray Dalio

Understanding, accepting, and working with reality is both practical and beautiful. I have become so much of a hyperrealist that I’ve learned to appreciate the beauty of all realities, even harsh ones, and have come to despise impractical idealism.

Don’t get me wrong: I believe in making dreams happen. To me, there’s nothing better in life than doing that. The pursuit of dreams is what gives life its flavor. My point is that people who create great things aren’t idle dreamers: They are totally grounded in reality. Being hyperrealistic will help you choose your dreams wisely and then achieve them.

瞭解、接受並面對現實既務實又美好。我是個極度講求現實的人,學會欣賞一切現實的美,甚至是殘酷的現實,也開始鄙視不切實際的理想主義。

不要誤會我的意思,我支持追求夢想。對我而言,人生沒有比實現夢想更美好的事了。追求夢想是人生的滋味所在。我想說的是,創造偉大事物的人並非只會空想的夢想家,他們都是完全腳踏實地的人。講究現實的態度可以讓你明智地選擇夢想,然後實現夢想。

-Ray Dalio

Dalio 這段話讓我想起導演 Christopher Nolan 在普林斯頓大學對畢業生的演講:

I don’t want you to chase your dreams. I want you to chase your reality. I want you to understand that you chase your reality not at the expense of your dreams, but as the foundation of your dreams.

我不希望你去追求夢想,我希望你去追求現實。我希望你明白,追求現實不應犧牲夢想,而要把現實當作夢想的基礎。

-Christopher Nolan

不管是 Dalio 或 Nolan 的話,都讓我很有感觸。當年我在左派陣營一陣子之後,開始覺得哪裡不對勁,覺得厭倦,而且無力感更深了。於是我離開了,幾年後無意間走到我以前不認同的世界。在那個世界,我看到的是無比的務實態度。其中,有些人走到務實就停止了,但仍有一些人在務實之上還有理念和理想。和這群人在一起的我覺得踏實多了,於是我就留了下來了。

最近和兩位譯者朋友分享我想在人生裡達成什麼,我說:我想脫離 naive,成為一個 sophisticated 的人,同時又保有 integrity。我想,Dalio 和 Nolan 說的大概都是這個道理吧。

--

--

Joanne
800 Unicorn

創業者與譯者,兩年前將創業、翻譯與軟體開發經驗結合在一起,開發出給專業譯者使用的友善軟體 Termsoup。Email:joanne.chou@termsoup.com