A War of Words.

Kevin Shinn
8Angles
Published in
3 min readMay 8, 2023
by Kevin Shinn, #usefewerwords, ©2023

Bono, the outspoken frontman for the rock band U2, made this statement when describing his work on Capitol Hill for Africa debt relief and AIDS relief:

“The best way to beat an opponent is to not be one.”

If you and I had coffee, and I asked you to describe the current culture wars ensuing in our society, I’m confident you would know what I was talking about and that we could have a lively discussion about the topic.

But where I would eventually want to take the conversation is to ask you why we so easily identify with a military term when describing an effort to create social change?

Why am I comfortable being at war with my neighbor?

To engage at war is to respond to a threat to my national security. When I see my neighbor as a commination to what I hold dear and sacred, I will prepare myself for a fight.

To win at war is to seek victory through death and eventual annihilation of said enemy. Unfortunately, I think a segment of our population would love to destroy their political, social and religious opposition.

I’m not comfortable with that language and its outcome. Consider my thought process in this progression.

How I face my world is how my world will face me.

If I face my world in a combative stance, my world will face me, ready to fight.

If I face my world with fists held up, looking for a fight, my world will face me as someone who won’t help when their shit hits the fan.

If I face my world with an eye of judgment, my world will be eager to point at me when I fail.

If I face my world like it’s out to get me, then my world will be out to get me.

If I face my world as a victim, my world will face me in agreement

But…

If I face my world with an air of kindness, my world will be forced to address my kindness.

If I face my world offering hope, then my world will face at least one person with hope.

If I face my world with something to offer, my world will face me as a table where it can dine and a carafe from which it can drink.

If I face my world with disdain and condescension, my world will never hear a word I have to say. But if I face it with compassion, it will be more likely to face me as someone who can be trusted.

As a communicator for social growth and change, I can’t afford to be at war with my audience. I want to speak in such a way that I can be heard, understood and embraced, not just to be the squeaky wheel that gets the grease.

War is hell. And I want to avoid that if at all possible.

--

--

Kevin Shinn
8Angles
Writer for

Kevin Shinn is a chef, author and communicator living in Lincoln, NE.