It’s a Bird, It’s a Plane…

Randy Hawthorne
8Angles
Published in
2 min readNov 11, 2022
Credit: AF Archive / Alamy Stock Photo

This month we marked an anniversary of a formidable moment in my personal journey. On November 10, 1969 Gordon showed a kid around a new, but now very familiar to most of us, neighborhood and the world was introduced to Sesame Street.

I feel a bit foolish to write about Sesame Street for this blog, but this was a revolutionary idea for television, and specifically early childhood development. And that’s a hot topic for me.

Sesame Street was born amidst the Civil Rights movement and Lyndon Johnson’s War on Poverty. The program was conceived by founders Joan Ganz Cooney and Lloyd Morrisett based on the concept that television could help prepare disadvantaged children for school.

I wasn’t the intended original audience but, growing up in a small town, I didn’t really have access to early childhood education. Plus, the concept of preschool was just emerging on the coasts thanks to the aforementioned War on Poverty program so it wasn’t as widespread.

As a toddler, Sesame Street was appointment television for me. That and Mr. Rogers–but that’s for another time.

This is where I learned my first phrases of Spanish, how to count, get my letters straight and met the beloved Muppet characters.

I still have great affection for the Muppets, especially the OG crew. And I appreciate the extended Muppet Show family as well.

Recently, I had a thought about the notion that the Sesame Street creators probably ensured that there was a good mix of personalities among the Muppets. And then I wondered which one I identified with most.

I landed on Grover.

I just remembered him as easy going and a bit unsure of himself. But he also had an alter ego, Super Grover, that made him adventurous and confident. According to this site, my memory served well.

Now I own a pair of Grover socks that I wear on days where I need a little more confidence. They’ve served well.

Ernie would be a good second. He’s certainly come what may, likes to have fun and has a great, distinctive laugh. I’ve been told by friends that they know when I’m in the room, or the audience.

In honor of Sesame Street, now in 150 countries with 30 different productions, have some fun and go to where the air is sweet to discover your inner Muppet. Oh! And find ways to support early childhood education.

--

--

Randy Hawthorne
8Angles

Nonprofit Management. Marketing. Personal Branding. Product Developer. Content Strategist. Event Planning. Leadership Development. Corporate Culture. Explorer.