Beyond the px — Fitbit’s David Teodorescu on startups, personal goals and design processes

Luis Ouriach
8px Magazine
Published in
8 min readJul 25, 2018

--

The latest in my 8px interview series saw me catch up with Fitbit’s David Teodorescu, who’s meticulous approach to the design process has seen him deliver some exceptional products.

David’s methodologies prove that applying tried and tested design thinking to design problems can reap rewards, whilst working collaboratively and to a common goal.

Enjoy.

What has your design journey been up until now?

I was under a certain creative influence from an early age. My mother and my uncle used to paint a lot and my sister is a very talented artist in New York, so she too went on a similar path. I remember I used to sketch and draw a lot myself.

After I grew up a bit, I became fascinated with the digital world. Its speed, its innovative potential and power. It was when I also discovered the concept of entrepreneurship that things started to get serious.

I founded 3 startups and quickly realised that designing your own ideas would be the fastest and best way to make them a reality. So, I took over the product design role for all of them and loved it.

I gave up medicine after I graduated as an MD and started from scratch…

--

--

Luis Ouriach
8px Magazine

Design and community @FigmaDesign, newsletter writer, co-host @thenoisepod, creator of @8pxmag. Sarcastic.