Kerning from the best — 5 minutes with Chlovis Lobre

Luis Ouriach
8px Magazine
Published in
5 min readJul 24, 2019

--

Kerning From the Best is an article series where I’m having quick chats with remote designers from around the world to learn more about what makes them tick.

This month I’m featuring Chlo, a French designer based in Taipei,Taiwan. Chlo has worked as a freelance remote designer for 5 years, and wouldn’t change it for the world.

Enjoy.

What does a typical morning look like for you?

I wake up usually around 7–8am and I start the day doing yoga. Nothing crazy, depending on my schedule it can be 15min or 1 hour, but it’s a good way to remind myself my mental health is my top priority in the end, because I’m sensitive to stress.

Then I do breakfast and drink my morning coffee, and I start to work around 9am usually.

I work mostly with teams from the US & Europe, so mornings are for long focus tasks, and afternoons/evenings for meetings. I organize my days depending on the client’s timezones & needs.

Sometimes it’s 9am-1pm design, 4pm-8pm team work (including conference calls, but also design team discussions and tests on Slack).

Sometimes there is a meeting at midnight, but I try to not make this happen very often though!

--

--

Luis Ouriach
8px Magazine

Design and community @FigmaDesign, newsletter writer, co-host @thenoisepod, creator of @8pxmag. Sarcastic.