Transitioning from Remote Work to In-Person: A Legal Professional’s Journey

Anne M Smith
9 to 5 and Fur-ious
7 min read5 hours ago

After nearly three years of working remotely in the legal field, I find myself at a crossroads. The comfort of my home office has become my norm, but as I search for a permanent position to build my career, I’m faced with the reality that most opportunities require a return to in-person or hybrid work. This transition brings both excitement and apprehension, and I’d like to share my thoughts on this significant change.

The Joys of Remote Work

Working from home has offered numerous benefits that I’ve grown to love (and maybe taken a bit too far):

1. No commute: Saving time and stress by eliminating the daily trek to the office. My car has forgotten what rush hour feels like, and I’ve successfully avoided ever learning how to parallel park. At this point, I’m too afraid to admit I don’t know how — I’ll just say I’m “really committed to reducing my carbon footprint.”

2. Comfort is key: The luxury of working in pajamas can’t be overstated. I’ve developed a “mullet” approach to video calls: business up top, pajama party down below. My colleagues think I own a variety of stylish tops, but little do they know it’s the same Liverpool jersey I’ve been wearing for three days straight.

3. Personal space: Having my own bathroom and not worrying about lunch thieves in the office fridge. No more passive-aggressive Post-it notes about who ate whose yogurt. Now, the only food disappearance I need to worry about is when I absentmindedly munch through my snack stash during intense work sessions.

4. Personalized environment: The joy of blasting new releases and revisiting old favorites from beloved bands while working. I’ve mastered the art of silently cheering for Mohamed Salah goals between guitar riffs. My productivity skyrockets during epic drum solos and stoppage time!

5. Furry companionship: Perhaps the best perk — spending all day with my beloved Boss Bunny, Kenny. He’s been promoted from pet to “Executive Vice President of Carrot Quality Control.” His performance reviews are outstanding, and his cute presence alone boosts my mood and productivity. Though I suspect he thinks all my important documents are just fancy chew toys.

Speaking of Kenny, I can’t help but wonder how he’ll cope when I finally land that in-person job. Who will he boss around all day? Who will he supervise to ensure quality carrot consumption? And most importantly, who will he give those irresistible “I demand a treat” looks to? I have a feeling I’ll be coming home to a very indignant bunny who’ll be expecting overtime pay in the form of extra banana chips!

The Need for Change

Despite these perks, my current position is temporary. As I look towards building a long-term career, I’m realizing that many opportunities require a physical presence in the office, at least part of the time. It’s been over four years since I’ve worked in person, which adds an extra layer of uncertainty to this transition.

The Job Search Journey

I’ve been actively interviewing for new positions, primarily for in-person or hybrid roles. While I haven’t received any offers yet, this process has been enlightening. Each interview provides valuable insights into what companies are looking for in today’s evolving workplace. It’s also giving me a chance to articulate my remote work experiences and how they’ve prepared me for a successful transition back to an office environment.

The lack of offers so far can be disheartening at times, but I’m trying to view each interview as a learning opportunity. It’s helping me refine my approach and better understand how to position my skills and experiences for in-person roles.

Anticipating the Challenges

Returning to an office environment after so long will undoubtedly present some hurdles:

1. Readjusting to a commute: Planning for travel time and potential traffic. I’ll need to remember how to operate a vehicle for purposes other than midnight taco runs. Plus, I’ll have to find a new excuse for being late other than “my internet was down.”

2. Professional attire: Saying goodbye to my work-from-home uniform of Metallica shirts and Terrifier shirts paired with pajama pants featuring Darth Vader or the Avengers. And let’s not forget my prized Grogu slippers — I don’t think they quite meet the office dress code! Time to dust off those “real” clothes and hope they still fit after years of elastic waistbands. Maybe I can convince HR that my Freddy Krueger sweater is “business casual”?

3. Shared spaces: Adapting to communal bathrooms and kitchens again. I’ll have to relearn the art of passive-aggressive note-leaving about fridge etiquette and master the “hover technique” in public restrooms. Gone are the days when I could blame Kenny for eating my lunch.

4. Social interactions: Relearning the art of in-person small talk and office dynamics. I’ve gotten so used to muting myself or turning off my camera during awkward moments that I’ll need to practice my “interested face” for long meetings. And I’ll have to come up with new excuses for avoiding after-work hangouts that don’t involve imaginary Wi-Fi issues.

5. Separation from home comforts: Missing my custom work setup and, of course, my rabbit. I’m not sure how I’ll cope without my mid-morning bunny cuddles or my ability to take “executive naps” between Zoom calls. Maybe I can sneak a plush rabbit into my new cubicle for moral support?

Looking Forward

While the transition may be challenging, there are potential benefits to returning to an in-person work environment (or so I keep telling myself):

1. Career growth: More opportunities for networking and visibility within the company. Though I’m not sure if being visible in my Alisson Becker jersey and Grogu slippers is the kind of visibility I’m aiming for.

2. Collaborative work: Easier brainstorming and problem-solving with colleagues. I just hope they’re ready for my “out-of-the-box” ideas, like implementing a office-wide ‘Bring Your Bunny to Work’ day.

3. Work-life balance: A clearer separation between work and personal life. No more excusing myself from meetings to let Boss Bunny out for his midday hop around the living room. Though I might need to invest in a bunny-shaped stress ball for my desk.

4. Professional development: Potential for mentorship and learning from colleagues in person. I’m particularly excited about finding a mentor who can teach me the ancient art of office small talk and how to look busy when the boss walks by.

5. New culinary horizons: Rediscovering the joys of office vending machine cuisine and the mystery meals in the communal fridge. I might need to develop a taste for energy drinks and questionably old sandwiches.

6. Fashion renaissance: Time to dust off those pre-pandemic work clothes and hope that style is indeed cyclical. If not, I’ll just claim my mismatched socks and ripped jeans are part of my “signature look.”

Embracing the Change

As I continue my job search and prepare for this new chapter, I’m reminding myself to approach it with an open mind. Change, while often uncomfortable, can lead to growth and new opportunities. I’m looking forward to expanding my professional network, learning new skills, and potentially discovering a career path that aligns with my long-term goals.

To my fellow remote workers considering a similar transition — remember that it’s okay to feel apprehensive. Take it one step at a time, and don’t hesitate to communicate your needs and concerns with your new employer. And if you’re in the midst of a job search like me, stay persistent and view each interview as a chance to grow and learn.

Here’s to new beginnings and the exciting journey ahead! (And to Boss Bunny, I promise to bring home extra treats to make up for my absence!)

--

--

Anne M Smith
9 to 5 and Fur-ious
0 Followers
Editor for

Empowering your career growth with actionable insights & a touch of humor.