The Top 12 Most Inspirational Albums That Have Inspired Me On My Journey That I Highly Recommend Giving A Listen

Just T. Whitfield
7 min readJan 25, 2016

--

So musically speaking. I was an early musician myself. I was always singing and even writing songs and poetry at an early age. I never wanted to listen to childish nursery rhymes or kiddie songs. I wanted to listen to Michael Jackson, Tom Petty, The Doors, Phil Collins, Travis Tritt, among others which I didn’t know the names until later. I for whatever reason thought I wasn’t cool enough to listen to the likes of 311, Green Day, Everclear, Smashing Pumpkins, Bush, Nirvana, Pearl Jam and all of that going on in the early to mid 90's which the cool kids were listening to. I loved The Smashing Pumpkins though. So eventually I tried to like them, but I could only listen to the “Tonight, Tonight” song on MTV when it the music video aired. Which is when I found out about more music and eventually I thought I could secretly be cool and listen to these bands on MTV. My first CD was Michael Jackson’s “History” which had amazing songs on it and was a greatest hits. My second album was that of a band called The Black Crowes from Atlanta Georgia. Same hometown as I, so I thought “oh cool these guys are from the neighborhood”

12. The Black Crowes: Shake Your Money Maker

This album introduced me to a lot of rock and roll. My dad was living with a roommate while I visited on the weekends. They would party all night with the stereo blasting the likes of Ozzy, ACDC, and Metallica. I grew up around a lot of partying. They usually just stuffed me into a room with my Sega Genesis or Nintendo 64 to keep me occupied, which it did. I would eventually go out and check out what’s going on around me. But this album really stuck out to me when they would play it. My dad eventually bought me this album along with Metallica’s self titled album aka “The Black Album”.

But if you haven’t heard of The Black Crowes, they are almost like the American Led Zeppelin. The songs are edgy, sexy, blusy, sex, drugs, and rock and roll… The whole deal.. I highly recommend this album. It’s a thrill ride.

11. The Smashing Pumpkins: Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

Like I mentioned earlier. This was an inspiration to me early on, this was my introduction to the band when I saw on them on MTV.

It opened my eyes and ears to really feel the sullen alternative music and I realized how powerful it was. I later on in High School, finally got my hands on the entire album and was blown away. Both discs share a beautiful story. This is one of my favorite double albums. And I recommend giving this record a listen if you have the time.

10. Black Flag: Damaged

This album inspired me while going through my getting sober stages and came later on in life but had a great impact. Henry Rollins is an inspiration to myself, and I truly respected his ability to be drug free and to get my ass in the gym. Which is where I was eventually headed into today. It’s a 30 minute punch in the face. Definitely give this album your time.

9. U2: The Joshua Tree

This band is so harmonious and peaceful… I know they have their haters, but I truly feel inspiration, spirituality, and peace while listening to them. This album is gorgeous with visionary soundscapes and echoing guitar tones and Bono’s falsetto is wonderful on this record.

8. Angie Aparo: The American

This album should be closer to number one. I have to give recognition and give credit where credit is due. Angie is a fantastic musician and absolutely incredible songwriter. He is a relative of mine and I used to sleep in his RV while some of the partying went on when I would visit my dad. Every song on this album is phenomenal which also includes the song “Cry” which Faith Hill would go on to use for her track titled album “Cry”.

7. ISIS: In The Absence Of Truth

This album is absolutely inspirational. I saw ISIS in 2006 when they opened for Tool. I had no idea about the at the time. They blew my mind and I would later go on to realize my voice is similar to Aaron Turner’s when I was recording vocals for an old band of mine. The atmosphere of this record is brilliant. Soothing at times and sending you on waves of spirituality and rhythms that will send you into a trance like state of consciousness. It’s heavy yet very therapeutic and reviving to the soul’s energy.

6. The Doors: L.A. Woman

“LA Woman” was a gorgeous upbeat song I heard while riding along in the car when I was younger. I loved it when it came on. Along with “Riders On The Storm”. The Doors gave me this connection to a spiritual realm when I was younger. It just seemed like I could reach out and touch the energy when they would play on the radio. This album still means a lot to me. Even though I enjoy all of The Doors catalog, it’s my favorite to this day.

5. Tool: Lateralus

Tool… What is there not to say about this band. They have inspired me since Parabola made it’s debut on MTV in 2000–2001.

http://youtu.be/_z2O289Jemo

Another video that launched me into a band’s catalog. Lateralus is a journey from beginning to end. This album served as a catalyst to where I am spiritually and and eventually led me to understand myself more and aided me in dark times. I don’t listen to Tool much anymore.. But I highly recommend and this album. It’s worth every second.

4. Solstafir: Otta

This band is absolutely incredible. I had the opportunity to see them in 2014 when they made their first appearance in Arizona. They are from Iceland and have this wonderful sound to them. They are original and have this fascinating tone. This album is a wave of sullen relaxation. Yet turns around and makes you really feel alive and appreciative of life. This album is still one of my favorites today.

3. Nine Inch Nails: The Fragile

This album is a masterpiece and possesses some of the best music written in the 90's and early 2000's. This album has a concept to it, the person is giving up yet finds it all again but at the end of the second disc, he loses it all again. There is some great poetry on this album as well. Trent Reznor is an amazing musician and artist. I am grateful to have discovered him in high school.

2. Tori Amos: Boys For Pele

Wow.. This album is so beautiful. I could probably fill this entire list with Tori Amos albums. But I wanted to mix it up, so I gave you a bunch of fillers… (Just kidding). This album is sexy, spiritual, tranquil, heart warming, sullen, and peaceful all at the same time. As she opens with the first track “Beauty Queen/ Horses” I feel like a child in a beautiful field of golden barley (yes I love Sting’s Fields Of Gold as well). But Tori takes me on a swirling whirlwind journey through childhood to adulthood with this album. It’s like a musicial time machine.. And I still listen to this album probably more so than others on this list.

1. Puscifer: Conditions Of My Parole

The reason this album is number one. Is it’s the most inspirational piece to me to this day. I have a connection to Arizona and the Sonoran desert. I am grateful to live here. This album was composed in Jerome and is a soundscape of the landscape of the desert. It’s the soundtrack of living here. It’s inspirational to me spiritually and is also a healthy reminder of “I am home” when I think of where I want to live next (Which I would go as far west as Joshua Tree California and as Far East as Texas, I want to stay in the desert, this is home). The vocalists of this band collaborate and harmonize so well. Carina Round and Maynard Keenan compliment each other through out the album. You have the yin and yang. The testosterone and estrogen. The balance of the male and female energy is boldly present in this project.

--

--