Here are 7 Free Learn-to-Code Resources You Should Know

.ju
5 min readOct 10, 2023

Last time, I shared that I got admitted to UCL with a 12% acceptance rate for the MSc Computer Science program. Today, I want to share with you the learning resources I used before and after applying. If you’re interested in self-learning programming languages, make sure to save these free resources or bookmark this article!

Table of Contents:
1. Codecademy
2. Github Student Developer Pack
3. YouTube
4. CS50x (Harvard)
5. CS10 (UC Berkeley)
6. Frontend Masters

  1. Codecademy
    What you can learn: #Python, #R, #JavaScript, #HTML, #CSS, #Java, # SQL, #C++

I used Codecademy during my first and second years in college to go through the basic courses of Python, JavaScript, CSS, and HTML. While the content here is on the simpler side, it’s perfect for beginners in programming. I was not very patient with video tutorials at the time, and Codecademy provided clear text explanations and a web interface for coding, which suited my need to become familiar with the basics quickly. Similar platforms: educative.

Additionally, they offer career paths that include courses from beginner to advanced levels, saving you the trouble of searching for courses on your own. However, some of the advanced…

--

--

.ju

24 y.o. Software Developer || UK + Taiwan || Wanna chat? Let's connect 🙌 https://medium.com/@.ju/about