My experience as a Data science intern at Deloitte

Chirag Saxena
3 min readNov 28, 2022

--

Data science is about using your statistical and technological learning and drawing meaningful conclusions from the data provided to you. I got an opportunity to be a Data scientist as an Intern and Deloitte. I had been invested in the domain for a few months before I joined with very basic knowledge about the same. I initially interned at Drishya.ai labs too for 6 months which helped me gain experience in data analysis and machine learning algorithms.

Initially, we were given very small datasets to practice and get hands-on knowledge about the whole process that our teams follow, and later the complexity and the data size slowly increased giving us an all-around experience on different types of datasets that we may have to analyze in our internship duration. During this phase, we were constantly motivated to learn new technical skills including python, spark, scala, and other necessary domain-related experiences, and practice them to have an overall idea of the flow.

Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

At Deloitte initially, I found it very challenging spark and scala were very new for me and the process followed was a very fresh experience but in due course of time, I slowly got comfortable with the new technologies that I was also learning at the same time. I started working on my skills more in Spark, Scala, and the very specific SQL skills that were required in my internship. My work includes day-to-day analysis, reporting, and performing the functions on data provided to us while maintaining qualitative standards that our mentors and seniors guide us on all the time. Custom requirements with the analysis and other processes are also processed on a daily basis.
Besides the spark and scala and all the data analysis, we also work on the custom PowerBi dashboards development that provides a better understanding of the data and makes it more responsive and impactful. The dashboards that we are required to design and create need to be not only responsive but also interactive and they have to provide new metrics if needed for a better understanding of the provided data and make it easier to analyze it further.

Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

Working with Deloitte has been a great experience overall and got to learn a lot I look forward to working at Deloitte moving forward and keep exploring new skills to work upon it is very important to keep learning and working on your domain knowledge and be updated with everything new. At last, keep motivating and challenging yourself for better growth as being in a comfortable situation may lead to very stagnant growth.

--

--