bernadette
3 min readFeb 3, 2016

Housewives for life

Since I was a little girl. I grew up watching Disney animated films like most little girls do. The first Disney princess is snow white. Snow white is a representation of a maid and housewife. The reason why the seven dwarfs let her stay to live with them was because she offered to clean the house and cook for them. The seven dwarfs will go to work early in the morning and when they come home from work dinner will be ready. Moreover, snow white was mothering them and teaching them to be clean buy themselves. For example she will not let them have dinner at the table,if they don’t go and wash their hands. Disney animated films are a representation of a woman image and how a women’s life should be. A gender role has been implemented into society since we were babies. Baby showers are classifying by colors, if it’s a boy all decoration should be blue and if its a girls everything should be pink. Since preschool we are learning that the color blue is for boys and the color pink is for girls. A dress is for girls and pants are for boys. Growing up playing with toys, I remembered playing with kitchen supplies, barbies and playing at being a mom with a baby doll. Boys play with cars, sports, competition games and toy guns. All these ideas are putting into kids minds. I don’t have kids of my own, but I do have two beautiful nephews. I remember once telling my five year old nephew Anthony “don’t get the toy its pink and pink is for girls. Then after, I regret saying that to my nephew. After taking sociology of gender role last quarter I feel like I learned so much about my self and I couldn’t believe how old fashion I am for telling my little nephew that. Now I believe that a color should not identify you.

Since I’ve known, media has been in control of society. Media makes us believe what they want us to believe and since then we are being somewhat forced to follow some rules to fit in into society. As a Mexican American I grew up thinking, and I still think, women should stay home and take over the house duties and to take care of the children, therefore men are the householders and the ones that provide for their family. I’m aware that we are starting a new generation in which women are wonder women and a role model to follow. For example now women go to work and they come home and they still do domestic work and cook. Things have changed in time. Men now do domestic work and cook at home and help with children as well, it seems like the change of roles are changing for good. As women demand to be treated equal. Personally, I don’t know how to clean a house and I don’t know how to cook. I’ve been lucky that I’ve had boyfriends that clean and cook after me or help me clean my house, and I have friends that their boyfriends cook for them too. I think these new generations of men are changing for good and are helping at home. Personally, as I said before, I agree to be a housewife and to be able to do that, I’m willing to learn how to clean and cook. I also agree that if I have to work to support the household I expect that my man should be helping with domestic work at home. Being a housewife is not an easy job, actually it’s a full time job that never ends because there’s no clock in or clock in out and it should be appreciated into society, especially between women. Some women critique housewives for being “lazy” and for staying at home, but actually is not that easy taking care of kids, the house and the husband . In my opinion housewives are wonder women and they should be more appreciated into society.