The Insane Development of Psychonauts

Making a game is hard work but the story of Psychonauts’ creation is one-of-a-kind filled with stories of crazy neighbours, intense crunch, and flooding toilets. But it’s also one about the birth of Double Fine Productions, a small team of hopeful developers wanting to get their vision out into the world.

1-UP
10 min readAug 16, 2021

--

It’s been 16 years since the insane world of the original Psychonauts. The announcement of a sequel after over a decade sparked my interest and I began delving into the development of this 2005 cult-classic. That’s when I uncovered the most bizarre and challenging game development story I think I have ever heard, one which threatened the very survival of Double Fine Productions before it’s inaugural release all those years ago. How the original Psychonauts ever reached store shelves and into player’s hand is beyond incredible. This is the story of Double Fine Productions and the iconic Psychonauts

--

--

1-UP

I love analysing and discussing games just as much as playing them. Let's explore game design and unpick some of the most important questions in gaming.