My Colour Blogs

Sabrina Davidson
4 min readMar 29, 2016

--

Pinterest is a media sharing site that allows people to post photos, videos, songs, documents, links and more, allowing its users to create blogs of these things and create their own filtered content for them selves and their followers.

I rediscovered Pinterest this February after a two year Hiatus and became obsessed all over again. I deleted my old blogs and created a blogging system that runs on colour and aesthetic. I have created 9 seperate boards on Pinterest that each represent a seperate colour, feel, mood and concept. However I will only curate my four main blogs; Pinky, Peachy Purple, red and Surreal Black and White.

The first blog I have created is called Pinky so far it consisted of 161 posts, the majority of which are photographs. This photo board is made up animation, photography and films that use a certain aesthetic, using the colour pink in different ways, warping the way in which the colour pink is symbolic. In this particular blog the colour pink is shown to be symbolic in many different ways; in turn, showing the different ways this particular colour can be used in visual media.

Peachy Purple is my second blog. It is all about the mixing of colours and lighting. I have always found that earn colours are mixed using light (neon or otherwise), one can usually find peach or purple tones. So in naming the blog Peachy Purple I am reminded of colour balance and the dark light aesthetic I have aimed to sit up in the blog. Featuring 84 posts, this blog is made to remind/show both myself and my followers; the power of lighting in photography and cinema, and the way in which colours speak to our imagination and subconscious giving us a feeling, intuition or mood.

The next blog and the one I enjoy and appreciate the most is red. This blog, similar to my first blog, it addresses the colour red in many different ways to show the versatility and many symbolic opportunities created by the power of a colour. This blog, comprised of 104 posts, has morphed from start to finish as I was exposed to new visual media and influences. Originally the blog focused on red objects or elements specifically used within a photo to add to the mood, but as it progressed it began to develop a film noir style and mood, while using the colour. This change was as I began to rediscover noir style art and films.

My final blog labeled Surreal Black and White, is made up of 214 posts, this blog celebrates the surreal nature and almost foreign culture found in 30’s, 40’s, 50’s, 60’s, and 70’s black and white film and photographs. For many black and white represents the past; it is used in many films as a device to show flashbacks and certain periods of time. However to me the entire concept of black and white has always seemed surreal; surreal to our natural colour vision and the cultural divide between our old and modern culture’s.

Pinterest has opened up an entirely new realm for me, allowing me to express my love for aesthetic, light, colour and mood and share it with likeminded individuals.

--

--