When School and Parents Clash

KB123
2 min readDec 4, 2023

--

Photo by 2 Bull Photography on Unsplash

So this is my first time ever writing a story here on Medium. I don’t consider myself a writer, but I sure love to read. At some point in my life I used to write down my feelings in journals and some people called it poetry. I just called it writing down my emotions.

So, today I am writing down my feelings and hopefully I’ll feel better. Here it goes.

I have four children 3, 7, 13 and 17. The littlest one attends a school the district opened that is free and I absolutley love the school. Three of my children attend the local school where I live and can I say I am soooooo disappointed right now! I have joined the PTA at the elementary and highschool level. The elementary school PTA is actually trying to get things up and running and appropriately active. I feel as the principal doesn’t really want the PTA active, because it may take away funding for whatever ideas they have for the fundraisers they constantly have. He so far, won’t post any fundraisers we have put together, but okays the fundraiser. The middle school doesn’t have a PTA and don’t let me get started on the highschool. Okay, so I am gonna get started in on the highschool. So I paid 10.00 to join the highschool PTA and have yet to receive any communication from the lady.

I attended an honor’s day on Thursday that was being held for last school year’s honor students. The pamphlet given, thanked the PTSA-president, but I’m like hey I gave money and would have helped if someone had let me know. I called last year requesting to speak to this person multiple times (the school won’t give me her number). I also called several times this year a long with the elementary school PTA co president. Neither of us have gotten a response.

Y’all I’m a black parent and former teacher tired of seeing predominately black schools failing and inactive parents! They always say school + home = success. Stop saying it if you don’t mean it! I don’t have the money to move and personally don’t want to move away, but I want to make change without stepping on anyone’s toes. Some of my kids still have a long way to go. What should I do?????????

--

--