Milk Healthy Delicious from Pixabay

M.I.L.K

Greg Prince
Published in
6 min readJun 9, 2019

--

Shaping character in battle.

Making Milk

Once I had eyes and once I had a face

but then duty came along, led to disgrace.

Along came the sun and the moons washed it away

but the mind of my shadow lingered and stayed.

Together we battled, for country and pride

many a transgression shoved, put aside.

New days can and will dawn in fevered light

but undrawn lines in my soul blister in swelling blight.

PAULA

Chapter 1

Restraint

Austerity, conservative, what did it all really mean? Who were these religious, right-wing idiots telling me what to believe and how to act? Why did I loathe every word coming out of each of the Republican candidates for president's mouth?

It seemed like I wanted to watch them and hear their message so I could pick it apart but maybe I was also looking for some hint for hope.

Driving Rebecca to school this morning and listening to NPR excited me, fueled my anger with the political choices I would be making in the coming year, and distracted my attention away from the line of cars dribbling down the street toward Avon Elementary.

--

--

Greg Prince
The Partnered Pen

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.