Ice Cream Mochi- Fail or No?

Madysen Almond
2 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

Mochi ice cream is a confection made from Japanese mochi with an ice cream filling. The mochi is a sticky, chewy dough that coats the ice cream. It is made with sugar, water, and sweet rice flour. You can buy these at select grocery stores, but you can just find them at Walmart in the ice cream aisle. Sometimes they can get kinda pricey, and as a 15-year-old with no job, addicted to small ice cream balls, I thought making them myself would be a better option.

justonecookbook.com

The most important ingredient is sweet rice flour, which I couldn't find at the store to save my life. I ended up ordering 3 boxes off Amazon and I can say it will last me a while. For the recipe I used, click here. I made this recipe twice and they did not turn out as well as the store-bought ones. First, you are supposed to mix all the ingredients for the mochi dough, then microwave it. The dough is very sticky and makes a huge mess. Then you roll out the dough with so much cornstarch. After refrigerating the dough, you cut it into small circles and take small balls of frozen ice cream and wrap them in your cold sticky dough. Wrap in saran wrap and place back into the freezer until you are ready to enjoy. I did every step correctly and the mochi turned out hard and flavorless. The ice cream to dough ratio was way off and even though I made it twice and the second time rolled it out thinner, there was still way too much mochi. Not to mention they have to sit out for 10 minutes before you can eat them. I ended up eating the ice cream out of the dough because it was just gross.

I think that if I used a different recipe, and maybe put flavor extract into the dough it would taste better. And rolled out the dough even thinner although I think I'm done trying to make mochi because it was just a fail and a waste of money. I'll stick to “mymochi” from Walmart.

--

--