Welcome To High School!!!

Kailynne Hollenshed
2 min readMay 13, 2020

--

Before I give you tips let me introduce myself. I’m Kailynne, a former freshman student at Eastside High school. By this time now I would be a sophomore. I joined the Biomed program at Eastside and I Struggled in the beginning. However, with advice from higher class students, I began to get my grades higher as the year continued. the first year of high school is most likely going to be your hardest but you’ll get through it.

High school is not going to be like elementary or middle school here you have more distractions, and you may have a harder time focussing. at Eastside we have football, volleyball, tennis, and many more sports and activities. you may also have more classes depending on the school you’re coming from. the main thing you can do to stay on track during your freshman year is to stay organized. Make sure you have some type of schedule planned out. with a schedule, you may be able to participate in school events, clubs, or sports.

If you find that yourself with lower grades then you would like I highly recommend tutoring. Eastside offers tutoring every day of the week other than on Wednesdays from 3:18 pm to 4:00 pm. they also offer Saturday school almost every Saturday. However, with the changes going on due to COVID-19 these two choices may no longer be an option. Therefore you should ask for help weather the help comes from a teacher, parent, or another student.

Even though grades are important the best piece of advice I could give you is to have fun. High school is going to be your final year before you become an adult. Freshman year is the introduction to much more than you may think. you will meet new people, and may even lose some important people. Join clubs, sports, and participate in activities. Also, don’t get into any drama, something little can become big in just a few hours.

High school is going to be hard but with these tips hopefully, I made it easier on you. If you ever need any more help just ask an upperclassman we may seem mean but most of us are sweet. the year goes by fast so make the best out of it.

--

--