Jake K
2 min readNov 8, 2016

Hordes.io Review

For my game design class I was to review an indie game meaning that the game wasn’t made by any major developer. I chose Hordes.io by Denis Vysotin because I always been a fan of .io-games they’re addicting and fun to just pick up and play when you’re bored (kind of like mobile games) and Hordes.io is no different. In Hordes.io you take control of one of the four RPG-styled classes to defeat monsters and the opposing team to level up your class and become stronger.

The Warrior is the tank of the classes. He’s a melee class that can take a hit and also do a lot of damage back
The mage is obviously the spell-caster of the classes, he can slow down enemies, teleport and heal in a block of ice.
The Shaman is the support character. He can cast spells of healing on his friends and put a spell of decay on enemies which slowly drains their health. He can also speed boost himself and his allies around him.
And finally the archer is the exact opposite of the Warrior. He has long-ranged capabilities and special arrows that he can heal himself with.

Overall all of the classes were fun to play as, my favorite one was the shaman because I liked saving people on the brink of death.

I give Hordes.io a 7/10. it was addicting and fun, but at the moment, it’s in alpha and it’s very bare-bones. I can’t wait to see what Denis adds in the future.