Create the new Clarks logo!

K2240048
3 min readMar 20, 2023

--

Hello everyone! In this issue, I’m redesigning the Clarks brand logo by selecting the appropriate logo, font, and other visual elements to reflect the brand’s new positioning and value proposition.

Based on my research, I believe Clarks should broaden its target audience and focus on appealing to a younger demographic in order to make the brand more youthful. As a result, the brand’s logo had to be simplified and fashionable.

To begin, I created a mood board for Clarks and the first version of the colour scheme.

I then began work on the Clarks logo.

Three of the fonts I circled were better suited to my new Clarks positioning. However, the first font was a little too retro and not stylish or minimalist enough; the third font was very clean and stylish, but it lost the classic feel of the original brand. So, in the end, I chose the second version, which was textured but not overly simplistic.

Once the typeface was determined, we had to refine the logo to make it more recognisable and to include the message that the brand desired to convey. So, what kind of logo could be added to the logo to make it more directional?

I looked through the brand’s website and was immediately inspired by the classic last shape. Why not use the traditional last shape as the brand logo? If you symbolise the last, the consumer will immediately recognise that this is an old and professional shoe brand.

So I depicted the shape of the last, thus creating a symbolic last. However, the logo was insufficient; I also included the year of the brand’s inception to enrich the logo, and thus a logo was born!

For this purpose, I created at least four different versions of the main logo.

As shown in the images above, the first shoe last logo was too large for online and offline media. In the third version, I reduced the size of the previous logo and positioned it to the left of the founding year font, which simplified the bulkiness of the logo but upset the balance and made it appear heavier on the left than on the right. In the fourth version, I placed the logo in the top right-hand corner of the name, which looked interesting at first but could be misinterpreted, as the reduced size of the last logo would look like a punctuation mark and make it difficult to read the logo, so in the end, I chose the second version of the logo, which retains the classic elements of the brand while giving it a more youthful tone. Simultaneously, the brand logo is centred and scaled down to create a sense of balance and beauty.

So far, we have completed the design of our logo! Don’t miss the next blog where I’ll talk about the colour scheme I designed for the brand and how it reinforces the brand’s image by updating the brand tone.

--

--