The kit lens challenge (18–55mm)

Lui Brandstrup
4 min readSep 24, 2015

What is the kit lens challenge? Well let me tell you, it’s pretty simple. For four months i can only shoot with the 18–55mm kit lens that I got with my Canon T3I four years ago.

Why? Well keep reading and I will tell you why.

Why would I want to only shoot with a “shitty” 18–55mm kit lens, when I’m traveling for four months?
Well, it’s pretty simple, that is all I have… I used to borrow my friends 50mm f/1.4 lens, but when i had to start my travel, he wanted it back, so I was suddenly stuck with my kit lens.

First, i felt really sorry for myself, but then i thought “Fuck that, I can take stunning photos with my lens.”

Stuck with the kit lens

So I made it into a challenge. Then I can’t buy a new lens or anything on my trip, I’m stuck for the whole trip. The reason is because I always hate when people talk about expensive equipment, because they can’t take good photos with what they have, so they think the gear the pro’s have, will make them good automatically.

I want to show, that it is possible to take fantastic photos with what you have. You just need to learn how to use it. And i will teach you guys how.

My photos from first week

I’m in my second week of my trip with my girlfriend. We are right now in Stockholm. I started using my lens the day our travel started, so i was pretty crappy with it, but after a week, these are some of my photos.

They are all taken over two days, because the first five days, I wasn’t happy enough with the photos. That was the days, where I practiced using the lens.

(More text under)

Indepth information

In the future blog posts I will go indepth about how I get the shots and so on. But I won’t do it in a technical way. I will try to do it as simple as possbile, so everybody can follow. And my goal is not to give specific settings and so on, but I want to give the tools, so you can use the tools to get the shots YOU want, not the shots i want.

Thanks for reading my first blog post. There will be much more, and if you like my photos, then please follow me on 500px.

Follow me on Instagram to see my latest photos: https://www.instagram.com/lui_brandstrup/

Read my next blogpost about my first days with the lens

After that post, I will go indepth with how to take stunning photos with a standard kit lens.

--

--

Lui Brandstrup

23 year old entrepreneur and father of two daughters. Writes about personal development, entrepreneurship, and financial indepence.