Water Fountain

Alicia Fisher
2 min readNov 6, 2018

--

Before I took this picture, we were taking pictures outside and we went through the locker room to get to the pool and I saw the water fountain and got a last second idea. I didn’t change the settings on the camera before I took this inside picture so it turned out really dark. I thought it caught the water really well and it turned out looking like the texture of an icicle. I turned up the lighting so you could actually see what is happening in the photo. I messed with the settings and this is how it eventually turned out and I actually really like it. It has kind of a retro and aesthetic feel at the same time. I didn’t really have a problem with the grainy look because I think it added a different feel to it. During the gallery walk people said the grain was too much but I honestly don’t know how to change that and again, I like it. Another person said it isn’t colorful but hey, some pictures aren’t meant to have color. And this fountain was silver, the wall was white, and the water is clear, so there really wouldn’t have been much color anyways even if the camera was set at the correct inside settings. To take the picture, I crouched in front of the fountain and help the camera in front of the water. As soon as I hit the fountain button I took the picture to capture the first movement of the water before it hit a steady bend as a water fountain does. Someone commented on the shine the photo caught on the faucet which I actually didn’t notice until they pointed it out. If the picture were brighter I’m sure it would’ve stood out a lot more. I’m sure I could’ve came out with a better picture at the right settings but I’m honestly pretty happy with the end results because I’ve never taken an action sharp photo like this before.

--

--