senior night posters

Mackenzie Waller
3 min readOct 25, 2018

--

I did this project for the senior football boys. Pictures of all the senior boys and dimensions were included in the email that was sent to me. I started by downloaded the pictures to the downloads portion of the finder window to use later. To make the posters I created a template in photoshop that was 17 in width by 24 in height (the dimensions included in the email). I used a black background I already had saved from when I did cross-country posters last year. I drug that background into the template and adjusted it to size using transform and move tool. Next, I searched for a font I like on dafont.com and installed that to my photoshop. I ended up using a font called American Captin that is bold and blocky and unintentionally it closely matches the font on the players’ jerseys. I color matched the text to the blue jersey with the eyedropper tool and put a white stroke around the text to make it stand out. The “EATONVILLE” text I spelled out with the horizontal text tool and “FOOTBALL” text was spelled out using the vertical text tool. Next, I searched for a smoke png on the internet. (Side note: Searching for a png allows people to find images that do not include a background.) Then I drug the png from my internet window into my template and adjusted it to size. I saved all the work that was completed thus far as a pds file and labeled it “TEMPLATE”. For each individual player, I drug in their picture which I had previously saved to my downloads, converted the picture to a smart object, rasterized and started cutting out the silhouettes by using the magic wand tool on top of all my other layers. Then after their silhouette was cut out I added a white stroke around the player because this allows me to easily find parts of the background that I may have missed while cropping out. I then used the eraser tool to erase these leftover parts of the background. I moved the player silhouettes behind the smoke effects by dragging it into place in my layers tab. I transformed the silhouette so it looked proportional to the text and smoke. For each players’ poster, I started by opening my template cutting out the silhouette and then renaming the file after it was complete. This step of creating a template saved me the work of having to put the background, text, and smoke in for every single poster. I saved the work as a jpg as I finished and sent it off when it was all complete. I hope that the senior boy like what I made!

Also, the pictures that got sent to me were not taken by me so the quality in some is not as good as others. I wanted new pictures for the peoples' whose pictures didn't turn out good but because of the time constraints that was not possible.

Jackson’s Senior Night Poster

--

--