PHOBIA IN PSYCHOLOGY

Iqra Rasheed
2 min readSep 5, 2021

--

A phobia is a persistent, excessive, unrealistic fear of an object, person, animal, activity or situation.

It is a type of anxiety disorder. A person with a phobia either tries to avoid the thing that tiggers the fear, or endures it with great anxiety and distress.

  • Phobias develop in the result of having a negative experience or panic attack related to a specific object or situation.

Symptoms:

People with phobias often have panic attacks. These panic attacks can be very frightening and distressing.

  • Shortness of breath
  • Feeling like you are choking
  • Sweating
  • Trembling
  • Rapid heartbeat
  • Pain
  • Tightness in the chest

Cure:

Almost all Phobias can be successfully treated and cured.

Simple Phobias can be treated through gradual exposure to the object, Anima, place or situation that causes fear and anxiety.

This is known as desensitization or self exposure therapy.

Analysis of a phobia in a five year old boy

https://scholar.google.com.pk/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C5&q=phobia+&btnG=#d=gs_qabs&u=%23p%3DRZ9pKamy-oQJ

Phobia is a very common and every person have phobia of any thing but some people take it seriously and that affect their personality and also sometimes their life.

Types of phobia:

There are three types of phobia: social phobia, agoraphobia, and specific phobia.

These are some other phobia types:

  • Acrophobia, fear of heights.
  • Aerophobia, fear of flying.
  • Arachnophobia, fear of spiders.
  • Astraphobia, fear of thunder and lightning.
  • Autophobia, fear of being alone.
  • Claustrophobia, fear of confined or crowded spaces.
  • Hemophobia, fear of blood.
  • Hydrophobia, fear of water.

If I share my phobia than it’s my exam duration. Some people thought how can be possible exam duration? Let me explain, when I was in 9th standard at that time I got ill due to stress of good grades. After that time, in every exam I got ill. That’s why I said exam is my phobia. I am very scared of exams infact the name of exam cause anxiety, stress and due to this I’m every time sick. I’m working to overcome it because that was just a coincidence.

--

--