Journal #2

Erika Manriquez
2 min readMar 24, 2016

--

Although we hardly spend time together the times we are together I wish for us never to be separated. We live in the same house but sometimes we just don’t see each other because he’s working or out and about with my mom. I’m at the age where I just want to be in my room on my phone listening to music, they don’t seem to understand that. My dad on the other hand understands completely, he understands me on everything. When i’m wrong he corrects me in a polite way that no other human could. It makes me sad when we have family problems. There was this one time when everybody was mad at each other, me, being the youngest I didn’t know what to do. My siblings would come to me and ask me for help, and sometimes ask me to pick a side. I was tired of hearing them all talk about each other for weeks, I finally told them straight up one night. I invited them all over to my parents house, not letting them know they were all coming. They were mad at first, but then they came to their senses. The whole feud was about my dad saying something to my older sister a couple weeks before about her not going to college. I understand that my dad said something to her I mean he’s our Father, he has all the right to care for his children. I also understand my older sister for getting upset about him telling her something and not anyone else, and also because he could have told her in a different way. This has taught us all that we can’t blame our dad for caring for us he is our dad and that will mean that he will always be there to push us and tell us stuff when we make a mistake, but only to come right back and help us get through our mistakes. I love my dad and for all the hard work he has put into our family. I love the fact that I can trust him and that I could count on him for advice. Everyone in my family is special to me, and regardless of the conflict I will always love them and be here for them.

--

--